Spain's Fernando Torres was included on Spain's preliminary squad for the World Cup on Monday even though he is recovering from injury. ((Javier Soriano/AFP/Getty Images))

Cesc Fabregas and Fernando Torres were added to Spain's preliminary squad for the World Cup on Monday even though they are recovering from injuries.

Spain coach Vicente del Bosque included the duo in his 30-man squad for South Africa, which will be reduced to a final 23 by June 1.

Del Bosque recently admitted he was concerned about the recovery of the two players, who have been key members of the Spanish team. However, shortly before Monday's squad announcement, doctors said both were recovering well.

The squad also includes Sevilla winger Jesus Navas who earlier in his career ruled himself out of international soccer due to anxiety attacks.

Barcelona goalkeeper Victor Valdes made the list after a fine season for Barcelona. Atletico Madrid's 19-year-old keeper David de Gea was also included after a season which saw him break into his club's first team.

As expected, Barcelona and Real Madrid have the most representatives. Barcelona has seven and is particularly dominant in midfield with the inclusion of Xavi Hernandez, Andres Iniesta and Sergio Busquets.

Pedro Rodriguez, who has had a successful season for Barcelona despite having to fight for a place in his club's attacking lineup, is included. Apart from attack mainstays David Villa and Torres, Sevilla's Alvaro Negredo and Athletic Bilbao's Fernando Llorente have forced their way onto Del Bosque's list.

The European champion plays Switzerland, Honduras and Chile in the World Cup group stage.



  • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
  • David De Gea (Atletico de Madrid)
  • Diego Lopez (Villareal)
  • Jose Manuel (Pepe) Reina (Liverpool)
  • Victor Valdes (Barcelona)   


  • Raul Albiol (Real Madrid)
  • Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid)
  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Osasuna)
  • Joan Capdevila (Villarreal)
  • Carlos Marchena (Valencia)
  • Gerard Pique (Barcelona)
  • Carles Puyol (Barcelona)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)


  • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid)
  • Sergio Busquets (Barcelona)
  • Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
  • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
  • Javier Martinez (Athletic Bilbao)
  • Marcos Senna (Villarreal)
  • David Silva (Valencia)
  • Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)


  • Santiago Cazorla (Villarreal)
  • Jesus Navas (Sevilla)
  • Juan Manuel Mata (Valencia)
  • Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona)
  • Daniel Guiza (Fenerbache)
  • Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao)
  • Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla)
  • Fernando Torres (Liverpool)
  • David Villa (Valencia)