Toronto FC's Dwayne De Rosario has been named an all-star.

Toronto FC midfielder Dwayne De Rosario was named to Major League Soccer's all-star team on Monday.

De Rosario, from Scarborough, Ont., and the rest of the all-stars will take on English Premier League side Everton at the 2009 MLS all-star game at Rio Tinto Stadium, home of Real Salt Lake, on July 29.

There's still a question as to whether De Rosario will play in the all-star game, though, because Toronto FC is slated to host the Puerto Rico Islanders in a CONCACAF Champions League qualifying contest on the same night.

This year's all-star team features seven first-time selections, including Freddie Ljungberg of the Seattle Sounders.

Other notables include Los Angeles Galaxy forward Landon Donovan, a nine-time all-star, and Columbus Crew midfielder Guillermo Barros Schelotto, the reigning MLS MVP and this season's leading scorer.

The rest of the 18-man roster will be officially unveiled on July 20, when Houston Dynamo coach Dominic Kinnear (five players) and league commissioner Don Garber (two players) make their selections.

The MLS team has a 5-0 record in previous all-star games against international opponents, including a 3-2 victory over England's West Ham United in last year's contest at Toronto.

MLS all-star selections

Goalkeeper: Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC)

Defenders: Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo); Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire); Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew)

Midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC); Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo); Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution); Freddie Ljungberg (Seattle Sounders FC); Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus Crew)

Forwards: Conor Casey (Colorado Rapids); Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)