Canada adds Scott Arfield to World Cup roster for upcoming games vs. Mexico

Canada has called in Burnley midfielder Scott Arfield for its World Cup qualifying matches against Mexico.

Veterans Julian de Guzman, Hutchinson, Johnson lead 23-man roster

Burnley's Scott Arfield, right, will join team Canada's 23-man roster for the World Cup qualifying matches against Mexico. (Peter Byrne/The Associated Press)

Canada has called in Burnley midfielder Scott Arfield for its World Cup qualifying matches against Mexico.

The 27-year-old Arfield was born in Scotland but qualifies to play for Canada through his Toronto-born father. It's his first Canadian call-up.

Veterans Julian de Guzman, Atiba Hutchinson and Will Johnson lead Benito Floro's 23-man roster.

And there is youth in the form of 22-year old Doneil Henry, 21-year old Samuel Piette, and 20-year old Cyle Larin.

The roster includes 15 overseas players and seven based in North America with one unattached.

There are four players from Major League Soccer and three from the North American Soccer League.

More than 46,00 tickets have been sold for the March 25 game against Mexico at B.C. Place Stadium. Canada, ranked 87th in the world, then plays No. 22 Mexico again at Azteca Stadium in Mexico City on March 29.

The game at B.C. place will mark the largest crowd to watch a World Cup qualifier in Canada.

"Such a big crowd is very important for Canadian soccer," Floro said in a statement. "We had great support for our last match (in November) and it was a very nice experience for everyone, so we must continue that with the upcoming match against Mexico."

Mexico leads Pool A with six points from two matches. Canada is second with four points while El Salvador has one and Honduras has none.

The top two teams in the pool advance to the final round of qualifying in the region.

After the Mexico series, Canada plays in Honduras and hosts El Salvador to wrap up the round.

Goalkeepers: Simon Thomas, Bodo/Glimt (Norway); Milan Borjan, PFK Ludogorets Razgrad (Bulgaria); Kenny Stamatopoulos, AIK Fotbol (Sweden).

Defenders: Nik Ledgerwood, FC Edmonton; Manjrekar James, Diosgyori VTK (Hungary); Dejan Jakovic, Shimizu S-Pulse (Japan); David Edgar, Sheffield United (England); Doneil Henry, West Ham United (England); Marcel De Jong, Ottawa Fury FC; Steven Vitoria, Benfica (England); Karl W. Ouimette, New York Red Bulls.

Defender-Midfielder: Adam Straith, Fredrikstad FK (Norway).

Midfielders: Julian de Guzman (capt.), Ottawa Fury FC; Iain Hume, SD Ponferradina (Spain); Will Johnson, Toronto FC; David (Junior) Hoilett, Queens Park Rangers (England); Scott Arfield, Burnley FC (WEngland); Tosaint Ricketts, unattached; Atiba Hutchinson, Besiktas (Turkey); Samuel Piette, Deportivo La Coruna (Spain); Tesho Akindele, FC Dallas.

Forwards: Marcus Haber, Crewe Alexandra (England); Cyle Larin, Orlando City SC.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.