Germany will try to win its fourth Euro title on Sunday. ((Oliver Lang/Getty Images))

It's a battle between two European soccer heavyweights — one with a rich history of success, the other with a track record of underachievement.

On Sunday, Germany and Spain will fight it out in Vienna in the final of Euro 2008.

Between them, Germany and Spain have won the European Championship four times: Germany in 1972, 1980 and 1996; Spain in 1964. Germany has also won three World Cups (1954, 1974 and 1990).

This is Germany's sixth Euro final (it finished runner-up in 1976 and 1992) and Spain's third (it lost to France in 1984).

Spain and Germany have met only once before at the European Championships — Spain earned a 1-0 win over the Germans in the first round of the 1984 tournament.

They've also clashed three times in the World Cup, with the Germans holding a decided advantage: Germany beat Spain 2-1 in the the first round in 1966 and in the second round in 1982; the teams played to a 1-1 draw in the first round in 1994.

Spain goes into Sunday's game riding a 21-game unbeaten streak (18 wins and three draws), including winning their last 11 contests.

Germany and Spain have met each other 19 times in all competitions over the years, with Germany winning eight times. Spain has won five games, including a 3-1 decision in their last meeting, an exhibition game in February 2003.

David Villa leads the tournament in scoring with four goals. Germany's Lukas Podolski is second, with three.

Each of the 16 teams at Euro 2008 will earn a $12-million participation fee. The winner of Sunday's final will receive an additional $12 million; the loser will earn $7.1 million.