Spain's preliminary 30-player squad for the World Cup included most of the key players that helped the country win its last three major tournaments, with Brazilian-born striker Diego Costa the highest-profile newcomer.

The defending champions sent their preliminary list to FIFA on Tuesday, with coach Vicente del Bosque to announce the final 23-man squad on May 25.

Costa is set to lead the attack in his native Brazil, with Atletico Madrid teammate David Villa and Chelsea's Fernando Torres also included, while David de Gea replaces injured goalkeeper Victor Valdes.

What it means

Costa is likely to get a harsh reception when Spain opens the Brazil World Cup on June 13 vs. Netherlands in a re-match of the 2010 final. This is a squad that has proved itself as an attack-minded powerhouse and coach Vicente del Bosque isn't messing with a winning formula. 

He will announce the final 23-man squad on May 25.

Spain's provisional 30-man World Cup roster


  • Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona) 
  • Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona) 
  • Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City) 
  • Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid) 
  • David Villa (Atletico Madrid) 
  • Fernando Torres (Chelsea) 
  • Fernando Llorente (Juventus)


  • Sergio Busquets (Barcelona) 
  • Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid) 
  • Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona) 
  • Koke (Atletico Madrid) 
  • Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich) 
  • Jesus Navas (Manchester City) 
  • David Silva (Manchester City) 
  • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) 
  • Santi Cazorla (Arsenal) 
  • Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao) 
  • Juan Mata (Manchester United)


  • Juanfran Torres (Atletico Madrid) 
  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea) 
  • Jordi Alba (Barcelona) 
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid) 
  • Gerard Pique (Barcelona) 
  • Raul Albiol (Napoli) 
  • Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich) 
  • Alberto Moreno (Sevilla) 
  • Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)


  • Iker Casillas (Real Madrid) 
  • Pepe Reina (Napoli) 
  • David de Gea (Manchester United)