Ryan Cochrane won Swimming Canada's male swimmer of the year award on Monday at the organization's annual Big Splash Awards Gala.

The Victoria swimmer won a silver medal in the 1,500-metre freestyle at the 2012 London Games, his second Olympic medal.

Toronto's Martha McCabe, who finished fifth in the 200-metre backstroke in London, was named the female swimmer of the year.

McCabe and 13 other swimmers will represent Canada at the FINA world swimming championships in Istanbul from Dec. 12-16.

In the para-swimming categories, Montreal's Benoit Huot was named the para-swimming male swimmer of the year.

Huot was Canada's flag-bearer at the Paralympic Games after winning a gold, silver and bronze in London to bring his medal total to 19.