Marie Philip-Poulin and Hayley Wickenheiser will lead the Canadian women's hockey team at the world championship in Kamloops, B.C.

Hockey Canada announced the host country's 23-player roster Monday for the tournament from March 28 to April 4 at the Sandman Centre.

Canada opens the preliminary round against the defending champion U.S., which has won six of the last eight world titles.

Canada's roster includes 13 players who beat the U.S. in overtime for Olympic gold in Sochi, Russia in 2014.

Poulin was the captain of last year's team that lost 7-5 to the Americans in the final at Malmo, Sweden. Canada's last world championship win came in 2012.

Wickenheiser will play in her 13th world championship. Canada's all-time leading scorer didn't participate in Malmo because of season-ending foot surgery.

Canada's roster


Emerance Maschmeyer, Bruderheim, Alta., Harvard University (ECAC); Charline Labonte, Boisbriand, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Erica Howe, Orleans, Ont., Brampton (CWHL)


Jocelyne Larocque, Ste. Anne, Man., Brampton (CWHL); Brigette Lacquette, Mallard, Man., Calgary (CWHL); Lauriane Rougeau, Beaconsfield, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Laura Fortino, Hamilton, Ont., Brampton (CWHL); Meaghan Mikkelson, St. Albert, Alta., Calgary (CWHL); Tara Watchorn, Newcastle, Ont. Boston (CWHL); Halli Krzyzaniak, Neepawa, Man., University of North Dakota (WCHA).


Meghan Agosta, Ruthven, Ont., Rebecca Johnston, Sudbury, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Jamie Lee Rattray, Kanata, Ont. Brampton (CWHL); Jennifer Wakefield, Pickering, Ont., Linkoping HC (SWE); Jillian Saulnier, Halifax, Calgary (CWHL); Bailey Bram, Ste. Anne, Man., Calgary (CWHL) Brianne Jenner, Oakville, Ont., Calgary (CWHL); Hayley Wickenheiser, Shaunavon, Sask., Calgary (CWHL); Natalie Spooner, Toronto (CWHL); Marie-Philip Poulin, Beauceville, Que., Montreal (CWHL); Sarah Davis, Paradise, N.L., Calgary (CWHL); Emily Clark, Saskatoon, University of Wisconsin (WCHA); Blayre Turnbull, Stellarton, N.S., Calgary (CWHL).

Head coach

Laura Schuler, Toronto

Assistant coaches

Doug Derraugh, Arnprior, Ont., Cornell (ECAC); Howie Draper, Edmonton, University of Alberta (CIS); Dwayne Gylywochuk, Winnipeg, Hockey Manitoba.