Road To The Olympic Games

Notifications

Armstrong locks up Diamond League shot put title

Canadian Dylan Armstrong continued his strong season on the international track and field circuit Wednesday, winning the shot put event at a Diamond League meet in Zurich to essentially clinch the season title.

Canadian Dylan Armstrong continued his strong season on the international track and field circuit Wednesday, winning the shot put event at a Diamond League meet in Zurich to essentially clinch the season title.

The 30-year-old native of Kamloops, B.C., fresh off his silver medal at the IAAF world track and field championships last Friday in Daegu, South Korea, heaved a winning throw of 21.63 metres to all but lock up the 2011 Diamond League shot put title.

Ryan Whiting of the U.S. was second Wednesday with a toss of 21.52, while fellow American Reece Hoffa was third with 21.39. World champion Thomas Storl of Germany was fifth with a throw of 21.23.

Armstrong now has 17 points on the season, well ahead of second-place Hoffa's eight points. All the Canadian needs to do is show up and participate in the final in Belgium to claim his winnings — $40,000 US in prize money, plus a diamond-encrusted trophy worth about the same.

Armstrong has been a model of consistency throughout the season, beating every major competitor on the European circuit. At the Canadian championships in June, he threw a Canadian record of 22.21 metres, which is still the longest throw in the world this year.

It's the second year in a row a Canadian athlete has won a Diamond League title. Last season, Priscilla Lopes-Schliep of Whitby, Ont., took the crown in the women's 100-metre hurdles.

The final Diamond League meet is scheduled for Sept. 16 in Brussels, Belgium.

CBCSports.ca will have all the action from the Zurich Diamond League on Thursday at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT. CBC Sports will also broadcast the event Saturday at 3 p.m. ET/noon PT.

Broadcast Partners