Road To The Olympic Games

Alex Bilodeau headlines Canada's Olympic freestyle ski team

Olympic moguls champion Alex Bilodeau topped the list of freestyle skiers named to represent Canada at the Wiinter Games in Sochi during a ceremony in Montreal on Monday.

20 athletes officially named to Sochi squad

The Canadian Freestyle Ski Association names the powerhouse team they will to Sochi. 2:46

The Canadian Olympic Committee announced 20 of the 26 freestyle skiers who will represent Canada at the 2014 Winter Olympics during a ceremony in Montreal on Monday.

Representatives of the Canadian Olympic Committee, Canadian Freestyle Ski Association and the Government of Canada presented each athlete with an official Canadian Olympic team sweater.

The athletes named to the Olympic freestyle team on Monday will compete in aerials, moguls, halfpipe and slopestyle. The remaining six spots will be filled when Alpine Canada officially announces the Olympic ski cross team on Jan. 27.

The team is headlined by Olympic moguls champion Alex Bilodeau, who will compete in his third career Olympic Games in Sochi.

“I am ready to hit the slopes of Russia and show the world why Canada is a force to be reckoned with,” said Bilodeau. “The Canadian Olympic freestyle team is totally focused. These Games belong to Canada.”

Justine Dufour-Lapointe will make her Olympic debut in Sochi alongside her sisters Chloe and Maxime.

“I always hoped that I would be able to represent the nation by doing what I love,” said Dufour-Lapointe.

“To be able to say that I am now doing that is a dream come true. I can’t wait to represent Canada in Sochi.”

The roster includes:

Men’s moguls

  • Alex Bilodeau
  • Mikael Kingsbury
  • Marc-Antoine Gagnon

Ladies moguls

  • Justine Dufour-Lapointe
  • Chloe Dufour-Lapointe
  • Maxime Dufour-Lapointe
  • Audrey Robichaud

Men’s aerials

  • Travis Gerrits

Men’s halfpipe

  • Mike Riddle
  • Justin Dorey
  • Noah Bowman
  • Matt Margetts

Ladies halfpipe

  • Rosalind Groenewoud
  • Megan Gunning
  • Keltie Hansen

Men’s slopestyle

  • Alex Beaulieu-Marchand

Ladies slopestyle

  • Kaya Turski
  • Dara Howell
  • Kim Lamarre
  • Yuki Tsubota

Broadcast Partners


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.