2016 Brier: Kevin Koe, 2-time champion, among those added to lineup

The field for the 2016 Tim Hortons Brier is set to go, with Alberta's Kevin Koe, Manitoba's Mike McEwen, Northern Ontario's Brad Jacobs and British Columbia's Jim Cotter claiming their spots on Sunday by winning provincial titles.

Canadian men's curling championship begins March 5

Kevin Koe: Now competing for Alberta, Kevin Koe won a silver ulu at the 1994 Arctic Winter Games alongside his brother Jamie, a regular Brier competitor for the Northwest Territories. Kevin went on to win two Briers, as well as a world championship in 2010. (Jeff McIntosh/Canadian Press)

The field for the 2016 Tim Hortons Brier is set to go.

Alberta's Kevin Koe, Manitoba's Mike McEwen, Northern Ontario's Brad Jacobs and British Columbia's Jim Cotter claimed their spots in the Canadian men's curling championship on Sunday by winning provincial titles.

They join a group that already includes three-time defending champion Pat Simmons and Team Canada, Brad Gushue of Newfoundland and Labrador, four-time world champ Glenn Howard of Ontario, 2006 Brier champ Jean-Michel Menard of Quebec and Saskatchewan's Steve Laycock.

Also headed to Ottawa are New Brunswick's Mike Kennedy, Nova Scotia's Jamie Murphy, P.E.I.'s Adam Casey, the Yukon's Bob Smallwood, the Northwest Territories' Jamie Koe and Nunavut's Wade Kingdon.


Koe, a two-time Brier champion, won his third straight provincial title, and second straight with his current lineup of third Marc Kennedy, second Brent Laing and lead Ben Hebert, with an 8-4 victory over two-time world junior champ Charley Thomas in a battle of teams from Calgary.


McEwen ended years of frustration with a 4-2 win over newly crowned Canadian junior men's champ Matt Dunstone in the all-Winnipeg final.

McEwen, backed by third B.J. Neufeld, second Matt Wozniak and lead Denni Neufeld, had lost five of the last six Manitoba finals but used a delicate inturn tap in the 10th end to remove Dunstone's protected shot stone that was biting the button.

Northern Ontario

Jacobs' team from Sault Ste. Marie, with third Ryan Fry, second E.J. Harnden and lead Ryan Harnden, will be looking to improve on its silver-medal result at the 2015 Brier.

Jacobs lost once in the round-robin portion of the Northern Ontario championship but got the bye to the final, and cruised to a 5-0 win over Sudbury's Jordan Chandler in the championship game.

British Columbia

Cotter, backed up by third Brad Kuhn, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky, came away with a 7-6 win over Sean Geall of New Westminster in the B.C. final.

The 2016 Brier will take place March 5-13 in Ottawa.

Broadcast Partners


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.