No contract renewals for banned cricket trio

Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir and Mohammad Asif, the three Pakistani cricketers banned by the ICC for spot-fixing, will not have their contracts renewed by club team National Bank of Pakistan.

The three Pakistan cricketers banned by the ICC for spot-fixing have been fired by their team, National Bank of Pakistan.

Iqbal Qasim, a senior sports officer of the NBP, said Monday the contracts of former Pakistan captain Salman Butt, Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Amir expired on Dec. 31 and the trio will "not get fresh contracts."

An International Cricket Council tribunal found all three players guilty of corruption after allegations that Asif and Amir bowled no-balls at prearranged times during the fourth test against England in August last year.

Qasim says NBP waited until the ICC verdict came on Feb. 5, and the players were banned, before deciding not to renew the contracts.

NBP is one of the leading teams in Pakistani domestic cricket.