Le May Doan nominated to Vancouver 2010 board

Catriona Le May Doan is moving from the speed-skating oval for the boardroom.

The two-time Olympic gold medallist was nominated by the Canadian Olympic Committee Sunday to be part of the board of directors for the committee organizing the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

Michael Phelps, the former CEO of Westcoast Energy Inc., was also nominated on Sunday.

The COC accounts for seven of the 19 members of the Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Games.

Three of the seven COC spots were already guaranteed to Canada's International Olympic Committee members - Dick Pound, Charmaine Crooks and Paul Henderson. COC President Michael Chambers and CEO Chris Rudge were also automatic choices.

"We look forward to working with all the directors as we move forward," Chambers said in a media release. "This is an exciting time for sport in Canada."

Le May Doan brings an experienced Winter Olympian's voice to the table.

"Catriona has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to excellence in her athletic career," Chambers said.

Le May Doan retired from competitive speed skating in May.

Phelps held various executive positions at Westcoast Energy Inc. He has also served as Manitoba's Crown Attorney and as a special advisor to the Minister of Justice.

In sports circles, he has championed for more support of Canadian amateur athletes.

"Phelps' impeccable record as a Western Canadian business leader, his political acumen and his strong understanding of the need for support of our Olympic athletes ideally suit him to serve on the board," said Chambers.

The board of directors will be made up of members representing the City of Vancouver, resort municipality of Whistler, Canadian and B.C. governments, local First Nations, Canadian Paralympic Committee and the COC.

with files from Canadian Press