The race to be named Kraft Hockeyville 2011 is down to 10 communities.

Ron MacLean and Cassie Campbell-Pascall of Hockey Night in Canada unveiled the top 10 hockey-mad areas from over 8,000 individual entries during an hour-long special on CBC and on Tuesday.

They are:

  • Antigonish, N.S.
  • Conception Bay South, N.L.
  • Chateauguay, Que.
  • Saint-Raymond, Que.
  • Navan, Ont.
  • Wolfe Island, Ont.
  • Bentley, Alta.
  • Brandon, Man.
  • Fort Nelson, B.C.
  • Mackenzie, B.C.

As of 9 p.m. ET Tuesday, voting has commenced to narrow down the list to the five Kraft Hockeyville finalists.

There are two ways to cast your vote: online at the Kraft Hockeyville website or toll-free over the phone at 1-866-533-8066. Visit the Hockeyville site for more details and a chance to show your support for your community.

The deadline to vote for the top 10 is Sunday, March 13, 11:59 p.m. ET, with the top five communities being unveiled on March 19.

A $100,000 cash prize from Kraft Canada for arena upgrades awaits the winner along with an NHL pre-season game and a special Hockey Night in Canada broadcast of the event.

Communities that make it into the top five will each win $25,000 from Kraft Canada for arena upgrades.

The previous winners were: Dundas, Ont. (2010); Terrace, B.C. (2009); Roberval, Que. (2008); North Bay, Ont. (2007); and Salmon River, N.S. (2006).