St. Louis wins Art Ross; Iginla shares Richard Trophy

Martin St. Louis may be one of the smallest players in the NHL, but the diminutive winger captured one of its biggest awards as the NHL regular season came to a close Sunday.

The Tampa Bay Lightning all-star won the Art Ross Trophy as the NHL's top point getter at the end of the regular season and he did it with one of the lowest point totals in the 57 years the trophy has been awarded.

St. Louis scored 38 goals and had 56 assists for 94 points in 82 games. It was the lowest points total to win the Art Ross since Stan Mikita's 87 in 1968, when teams played 74-game schedules.

The 28-year-old St. Louis is listed generously in NHL media guides as five-foot-nine-inches, although the speedy native of Laval, Que., is likely closer to five-foot-seven-inches.

His size aside, winning the Art Ross is even more remarkable because St. Louis was never drafted by an NHL club. He played four seasons at the University of Vermont before signing as a free agent with the Calgary Flames in 1998. St. Louis played two seasons with the Flames, but his contract wasn't renewed and the Lightning snapped him up in 2000.

St. Louis beat out Colorado Avalanche captain Joe Sakic for the Art Ross crown. Sakic finished with 33 goals and 54 assists for 87 points.

Meanwhile, Jarome Iginla captured his second Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy in three years, but he'll have to share the distinction this time around.

The Calgary Flames captain pocketed his 41st goal of the season in Sunday's 2-1 season-finale loss to the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, and in doing so, tied Atlanta's Ilya Kovalchuk and Columbus' Rick Nash for the NHL's goal scoring lead.

All three players will have their names etched on the Rocket Richard Trophy, awarded to the player finishing the regular season as the league's goal scoring leader.

It's the first time the Rocket Richard title will be awarded to multiple winners.

Iginla becomes the second player to win the trophy more than once. The 27-year-old winger also captured the goal-scoring title in 2002 after notching 52 goals.

Pavel Bure also won multiple times, in 2000 and 2001, while playing with the Florida Panthers.

The Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy was officially unveiled on Jan. 24, 1999, to honour the late Montreal Canadiens star who became the first player in league history to score 50 goals in 50 games, 50 goals in a season and 500 in a career.

New Jersey goaltender Martin Brodeur will be awarded the William M. Jennings Trophy for the fourth time as the Devils allowed a league-low 164 goals.

Brodeur, winner of last year's Vezina Trophy, also led all NHL goaltenders with 38 wins and 11 shutouts.

About the only two statistical categories Brodeur didn't have were owned by Calgary netminder Miikka Kiprusoff, who finished with the best goals-against average, 1.69, and best save percentage, .933.

with files from Canadian Press