Penguins captain Sidney Crosby was named the NHL's most valuable player in 2007. ((Dale MacMillan/Getty Images))

Sidney Crosby, the youngest player to reach 200 points in his NHL career, was named the winner of the Lou Marsh Award on Tuesday.

The award is given annually to Canada's outstanding athlete by the Toronto Star and is named after one of the newspaper's former sports editors. The winner is chosen by a panel of sports editors and broadcasters from across the country.

Crosby, who won in a close vote, is the first hockey player to win the award since Mario Lemieux in 1993.

In June,he was named theNHL's most valuable player, joining Wayne Gretzky on the shortlist of 19-year-olds to capture the Hart Trophy.

The Pittsburgh Penguins captain was the recipient of the Lester B. Pearson award as the most outstanding player as selected by his peers.

The smooth-skating centre also became the youngest player in league history to win the Art Ross Trophy, recording an NHL-best 120 points this season. He currently stands fifth in league scoring and tops the Penguins with 40 points in 29 games this season.

Other finalists were Phoenix Suns star Steve Nash of Victoria, alpine skier Erik Guay of Mont-Tremblant, Que., kayaker Adam van Koeverden of Oakville, Ont., and boxer Steve Molitor of Sarnia, Ont.

The seventh player in league history to pull off the Ross-Hart-Pearson hat trick, Crosby is the youngest player to be a finalist for the Pearson and the youngest recipient since Gretzky won it as a 20-year-old in 1982.

Crosby helped the Penguins finish with 105 points, a 47-point improvement that was the fourth-biggest jump in NHL history.

Nash finished second in NBA MVP voting last season while Guay won five medals on the World Cup circuit. Van Koeverden was a world champion in the 500 metres and Molitor successfully defended his IBF super-bantamweight title twice in 2007.