Ovechkin, Caps top CBCSports.ca poll

The Washington Capitals were picked to win the Stanley Cup and Alex Ovechkin was named the NHL's most valuable player in CBCSports.ca's season-ending poll of general managers, assistant GMs, pro scouts and players.
Alex Ovechkin is the NHL's 2009-10 MVP and his Washington Capitals are the Stanley Cup favourite, according to CBCSports.ca's season-ending poll. ((Justin K. Aller/Getty Images))

In what promises to be a wide-open Stanley Cup tournament, the Presidents' Trophy-winning Washington Capitals appear to the favourite as the 2010 post-season gets ready to open for business on Wednesday night.

CBCSports.ca enlisted an anonymous 12-member panel consisting of NHL general managers, assistant GMs, pro scouts and players to sift through a dozen different categories for a regular season-ending poll.

Our jury has spoken and the Capitals have been awarded narrow-favourite status over the defending Stanley Cup champion Pittsburgh Penguins and the Chicago Blackhawks, a 2009 Western Conference finalist.

In order to seek fairness, six of the panellists were from Eastern Conference clubs and the other half were from the West. Each person was asked to list their top three for each category, with three points awarded for a first-place vote, two for a second and one for a third. For all-star team voting, each panellist was asked to simply list the top player at each position.

The results:

Stanley Cup favourite

1. Washington Capitals (21 points)

2. Pittsburgh Penguins (17)

3. Chicago Blackhawks (15)

Others receiving votes: Detroit Red Wings (14); New Jersey Devils (3); San Jose Sharks (1); Vancouver Canucks (1).

Biggest surprise (team or player)

1. Phoenix Coyotes (33)

2. Colorado Avalanche (18)

3. Craig Anderson, Colorado (9)

Others receiving votes: Los Angeles Kings (4); Henrik Sedin, Vancouver (2); Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay (2); Buffalo Sabres (1); Tyler Myers, Buffalo (1); Patrik Hornqvist, Nashville (1); Jimmy Howard, Detroit (1).

Biggest disappointment (team or player)

1. Calgary Flames (18)

2. Edmonton Oilers (13)

3. Russian Olympic team (11)

Others receiving votes: Shawn Horcoff, Edmonton (7); Jay Bouwmeester, Calgary (6); Anaheim Ducks (4); Philadelphia Flyers (3); Carey Price, Montreal (2); Steve Mason, Columbus (2); Tampa Bay Lightning (2); Boston Bruins (1); Tim Thomas, Boston (1); Marty Turco, Dallas (1); Toronto Maple Leafs (1).

Biggest story

1. Coyotes' success (26)

2. Winter Olympics (24)

3. Headshots (19)

Other receiving votes: NHLPA saga (3).

Hart Trophy (most valuable player)

1. Alex Ovechkin, Washington (21)

2. Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh (15)

3. Henrik Sedin, Vancouver (15)

Others receiving votes: Ryan Miller, Buffalo (12); Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix (7); Martin Brodeur, New Jersey (1).

Norris Trophy (best defenceman)

1. Duncan Keith, Chicago (24)

2. Drew Doughty, Los Angeles (18)

3. Mike Green, Washington (16)

Others receiving votes: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit (8); Dan Boyle, San Jose (2); Tyler Myers, Buffalo (1)

Vezina Trophy (best goaltender)

1. Ryan Miller, Buffalo (30)

2. Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix (22)

3. Martin Brodeur, New Jersey (8)

Others receiving votes: Craig Anderson, Colorado (6); Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary (3); Jimmy Howard, Detroit (2); Tuukka Rask, Boston (1).

Calder Trophy (best rookie)

1. Tyler Myers, Buffalo (28)

2. Matt Duchene, Colorado (21)

3. Jimmy Howard, Detroit (20)

Others receiving votes: Tuukka Rask, Boston (2); John Tavares, New York Islanders (1).

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward)

1. Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit (19)

2. Ryan Kesler, Vancouver (16)

3. Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh (11)

Others receiving votes: Jonathan Toews, Chicago (8); Patrice Bergeron, Boston (7); Mike Richards, Philadelphia (4); Brooks Laich, Washington (2); Brandon Sutter, Carolina (2); Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit (2); Mikko Koivu, Minnesota (1).

All-Star team

Goalie: Ryan Miller, Buffalo (10 votes)

Defence: Duncan Keith, Chicago (9)

Defence: Drew Doughty, Los Angeles (6)

Centre: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh (6)

Left wing: Alex Ovechkin, Washington (12)

Right wing: Marian Gaborik, New York Rangers (6)

Others receiving votes: Ilya Bryzgalov, G, Phoenix (1); Martin Brodeur, G, New Jersey (1); Mike Green, D, Washington (4); Dan Boyle, D, San Jose (2); Nicklas Lidstrom, D, Detroit (2); Matt Greene, D, Los Angeles (1); Henrik Sedin, C, Vancouver (5); Steven Stamkos, C, Tampa Bay (1); Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay, RW, (4); Patrick Kane, RW,  Chicago (1); Patrick Marleau, LW, San Jose (1).

Jack Adams Award (best coach)

1. Dave Tippett, Phoenix (36)

2. Barry Trotz, Nashville (13)

3. Joe Sacco, Colorado (6)

Others receiving votes: Bruce Boudreau, Washington (4); Cory Clouston, Ottawa (4); Mike Babcock, Detroit (3); Joel Quenneville, Chicago (3); Lindy Ruff, Buffalo (2); Terry Murray, Los Angeles (1).

Executive of the year

1. Don Maloney, Phoenix (31)

2. David Poile, Nashville (10)

3. George McPhee, Washington (8)

Others receiving votes: Bryan Murray, Ottawa (7); Darcy Regier, Buffalo (7); Dean Lombardi, Los Angeles (4); Mike Gillis, Vancouver (2); Ken Holland, Detroit (1); Lou Lamoriello, New Jersey (1); Ray Shero, Pittsburgh (1).