Vote: Choose your winners of the NHL Awards

The NHL Awards will be handed out in Las Vegas on Wednesday night (, 7 pm ET; CBC Television, 8 pm ET) and we want to know who you think will take home trophies.
Scoring champion Evgeni Malkin of the Penguins is considered the front-runner for the Hart Trophy as the NHL's MVP. (Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

The NHL Awards will be handed out in Las Vegas on Wednesday night (7 p.m. ET, CBC,, but we want to know: who do you think should take home the hardware?

Apologies for omitting the candidates in the running for the Selke and Lady Byng Trophies, for the purposes of this poll we will focus on the trophies with the most "buzz."

Calder Trophy

  • First awarded in 1933
  • Voters: Professional Hockey Writers' Association
  • Last year's winner: Jeff Skinner

Adam Henrique: The New Jersey Devils may not have been surprised by the season Henrique had, but his ability to step up and play in his first full NHL season put the league on notice. His 51 points were one fewer than the lead established by his co-nominees, but he was tops in assists (35), and added four shorthanded goals.

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins: The first pick of the 2011 draft jumped right into a considerably young Oilers forward core and immediately proved he can play at the NHL level, tying Landeskog for the rookie lead in points (52) despite playing in only 62 games — 20 fewer than the Avalanche nominee.

Gabriel Landeskog: Colorado's newest young gun may be the co-holder of the rookie points lead and second in goals with 22, but perhaps the most telling stat is his plus/minus, a healthy plus-20. That's quite a feat for a teenage player that averaged the most ice time amongst first-year forwards (18:31).


Jack Adams Trophy

  • First awarded: 1974
  • Voters: NHL Broadcasters' Association
  • Last year's winner: Dan Bylsma

Ken Hitchcock: Took the reins of a young Blues team just 13 games into the 2011-12 campaign and guided them to a 43-15-11 record with a defensive-minded system that put them three points shy of capturing the Presidents' Trophy (and helped the team's goalies win the William M. Jennings Trophy).

Paul MacLean: The rookie head coach got the most out of his veterans and helped along the youngsters (including Norris nominee Erik Karlsson) on a Senators team most pundits picked to finish dead last in the East, if not the league.

John Tortorella: His abrasive style may have cost him $50,000 US in fines this season, and a lot of shot-blocking induced bruises for his players, but it also propelled the 2004 Jack Adams winner's Blueshirts to first place in the East.


The Norris Trophy

  • First awarded: 1954
  • Voters: Professional Hockey Writers' Association
  • Last year's winner: Nicklas Lidstrom

Zdeno Chara: With one Norris under his belt, the Bruins' hard-shooting, giant of a defenceman looks for his second on the strength of a 52-point, plus-33 season that saw him captain one of the All-Star teams in Ottawa.

Shea Weber: His second nomination for the award comes after a career-best 49 points while leading the NHL's defenceman with 10 power-play goals. His 19 goals this season tied him with Erik Karlsson for tops among defencemen.

Erik Karlsson: His first nomination comes after he led the league's rearguards in points (78), and his plus-minus number (plus-16) was a dramatic improvement after a minus-30 in the 2010-11 season.


The Vezina Trophy

  • First awarded: 1927
  • Voters: NHL general managers
  • Last year's winner: Tim Thomas

Jonathan Quick: Prior to his Conn Smythe Trophy-winning performance in the post-season, Quick was a key reason the offensively-challenged Kings got into the playoffs, producing a league-high 10 shutouts, 1.95 GAA and .929 save percentage.

Pekka Rinne: The Predators' big man between the pipes led the NHL in both wins (43) and saves (1,987) while accruing a stellar .923 save percentage.

Henrik Lundqvist: Led the league in save percentage amongst goalies that played 39 games or more, was second only to Quick with a 1.97 GAA, and ranked third in wins.


The Hart Trophy

  • First awarded: 1924
  • Voters: Professional Hockey Writers' Association
  • Last year's winner: Corey Perry

Evgeni Malkin: Came back from an injury-plagued season to lead the Sidney Crosby-less (for the most part anyway) Penguins to the playoffs and help Pittsburgh make a run at first overall in the conference. Malkin's 109 points won him the Art Ross Trophy as the league's scoring champion.

Steven Stamkos: Already has his name on this year's Rocket Richard Trophy with his 60-goal performance, a bright spot during a bad year for a team one season removed from an appearance in the East final.

Henrik Lundqvist: Backed up the often pop-gun offence of the Rangers to their best point total (109) since the 1993-94 Cup winning squad with a stellar 1.97 GAA, .930 SV% and eight shutouts.