Sidney Crosby penalty overturned
Rare decision benefits Penguins' captain
Sidney Crosby was visibly and audibly upset after being whistled for tripping Johnny Oduya late in the second period of a contest between the Pittsburgh Penguins and Chicago Blackhawks on Sunday afternoon.
But as the Penguins captain took his seat in the box and prepared to serve his two minutes, the referees huddled to discuss what had transpired.
Crosby's stick got caught up in the skate of Oduya, sending the Blackhawks defenceman to the ice.
Moments earlier, there was a similar situation in which Oduya appeared to interfere with Crosby as he gathered the puck and turned towards the Blackhawks' net. However, Crosby lost his footing on the play and wasn't able to draw a penalty.
Naturally, each team felt like the other team deserved a penalty for essentially the same reason.
As the commentator on the broadcast suggests, the referee decided to change the call in what essentially amounted to a tit-for-tat scenario.
Not something that has happened too often, if ever, and one can only imagine what this means the next time there is a "debatable" call.