P.K. Subban leads list of NHLers filing for arbitration

There were 20 NHL players to file for salary arbitration by the July 5 deadline, with none bigger than Montreal defenceman P.K. Subban.

Canadiens, Leafs both have 2 pending cases

Montreal Canadiens defenceman P.K. Subban, seen during a playoff game in May, held out on his previous two-year contract. (Adrian Wyld/The Canadian Press)

There were 20 NHL players to file for salary arbitration by the July 5 deadline.

Hearings will be held in Toronto from July 20 to Aug. 4, although in recent years very few cases have reached that stage. There is nothing preventing a team and a player on the list from still negotiating a deal, and thus avoiding what can be a contentious process.

Should a player and club get to arbitration, the team can decide on an award of one or two years. Roughly speaking, the player's representative and the team will make a proposal based on performance, on comparable players who've yet to reach eligibility for unrestricted free agency, and other factors. The neutral arbitrator has discretion to come up with a dollar figure that differs from the two proposals.

The team has the option of walking away from a player-initiated arbitration ruling, which would make the player an unrestricted free agent.

By far, the biggest name on the current list is P.K. Subban. The Montreal defenceman held out before the abbreviated 2013 season and opted to sign a two-year deal worth a total of $5.75 million US instead of a long-term contract.

Subban went on to win the Norris Trophy as top NHL defenceman just a few months later, and this past season, earned more praise for his play and maturity as Montreal reached the Eastern Conference final.

As a result, he is in for a substantial raise.

Players filing for arbitration:

Arizona Coyotes — Brandon McMillan.

Boston Bruins — Matt Bartkowski.

Calgary Flames — Joe Colborne.

Dallas Stars — Cameron Gaunce, Antoine Roussel.

Florida Panthers — Jimmy Hayes.

Los Angeles Kings — Dwight King.

Minnesota Wild — Justin Fontaine.

Montreal Canadiens — Lars Eller, P.K. Subban.

Nashville Predators — Mattias Ekholm.

New York Islanders — Kevin Poulin.

New York Rangers — Derick Brassard, Chris Kreider, Mats Zuccarello.

Ottawa Senators — Derek Grant.

Pittsburgh Penguins — Nick Spaling.

San Jose Sharks— Jason Demers.

Toronto Maple Leafs — Cody Franson, James Reimer.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.