NHL All-Star Game history

The NHL All-Star game has undergone a number of format changes since first introduced over 60 years ago. Here's a full rundown of all-star game results and game most valuable players.
Mario Lemieux, seen at the 2001 NHL All-Star Game in Denver, won MVP honours three times in five years beginning in 1985. (David Zalubowski/Associated Press)

2011CarolinaTeam Lidstrom 11, Team Staal 10Patrick Sharp, CHI
2009MontrealEast 12, West 11Alex Kovalev, MTL
2008AtlantaEast 8, West 7Eric Staal, CAR
2007DallasWest 12, East 9Danny Briere, BUF
2004MinnesotaEast 6, West 4Joe Sakic, COL
2003FloridaWest 6, East 5Dany Heatley, ATL
2002Los AngelesWorld 8, North America 5Eric Daze, CHI
2001ColoradoNorth America 14, World 12Bill Guerin, BOS
2000TorontoWorld 9, North America 4Pavel Bure, FLA
1999Tampa BayNorth America 8, World 6Wayne Gretzky, NYR
1998VancouverNorth America 8, World 7Teemu Selanne, ANA
1997San JoseEast 11, West 7Mark Recchi, MTL
1996BostonEast 5, West 4Ray Bourque, BOS
1994NY RangersEast 9, West 8Mike Richter, NYR
1993MontrealWales 16, Campbell 6Mike Gartner, NYR
1992PhiladelphiaCampbell 10, Wales 6Brett Hull, STL
1991ChicagoCampbell 11, Wales 5Vincent Damphousse, TOR
1990PittsburghWales 12, Campbell 7Mario Lemieux, PIT
1989EdmontonCampbell 9, Wales 5Wayne Gretzky, EDM
1988St. LouisWales 6, Campbell 5Mario Lemieux, PIT
1986HartfordWales 4, Campbell 3Grant Fuhr, EDM
1985CalgaryWales 6, Campbell 4Mario Lemieux, PIT
1984New JerseyWales 7, Campbell 6Don Maloney, NYR
1983NY IslandersCampbell 9, Wales 3Wayne Gretzky, EDM
1982WashingtonWales 4, Campbell 2Mike Bossy, NYI
1981Los AngelesCampbell 4, Wales 1Mike Liut, STL
1980DetroitWales 6, Campbell 3Reggie Leach, PHI
1978BuffaloWales 3, Campbell 2Billy Smith, NYI
1977VancouverWales 4, Campbell 3Rick Martin, BUF
1976PhiladelphiaWales 7, Campbell 5Pete Mahovlich, MTL
1975MontrealWales 7, Campbell 1Syl Apps Jr., PIT
1974ChicagoWest 6, East 4Garry Unger, STL
1973NY RangersEast 5, East 4Greg Polis, PIT
1972MinnesotaEast 3, West 2Bobby Orr, BOS
1971BostonWest 2, East 1Bobby Hull, CHI
1970St. LouisEast 4, West 1Bobby Hull, CHI
1969MontrealEast 3, West 3Frank Mahovlich, DET
1968TorontoToronto 4, All-Stars 3Bruce Gamble, TOR
1967MontrealMontreal 3, All-Stars 0Henri Richard, MTL
1965MontrealAll-Stars 5, Montreal 2Gordie Howe, DET
1964TorontoAll-Stars 3, Toronto 2Jean Beliveau, MTL
1963TorontoAll-Stars 3, Toronto 3Frank Mahovlich, TOR
1962TorontoToronto 4, All-Stars 1Eddie Shack, TOR
1961ChicagoAll-Stars 3, Chicago 1
1960MontrealAll-Stars 2, Montreal 1 
1959MontrealMontreal 6, All-Stars 1 
1958MontrealMontreal 6, All-Stars 3 
1957MontrealAll-Stars 5, Montreal 3 
1956MontrealAll-Stars 1, Montreal 1 
1955DetroitDetroit 3, All-Stars 1 
1954DetroitAll-Stars 2, Detroit 2 
1953MontrealAll-Stars 3, Montreal 1 
1952Detroit1st Team 1, 2nd Team 1 
1951Toronto1st Team 2, 2nd Team 2 
1950DetroitDetroit 7, All-Stars 1 
1949TorontoAll-Stars 3, Toronto 1 
1948ChicagoAll-Stars 3, Toronto 1 
1947TorontoAll-Stars 4, Toronto 3 

There was no All-Star contest during the calendar year of 1966 because the game was moved from the start of season to mid-season.

 In 1979, the Challenge Cup series between the Soviet Union and Team NHL replaced the All-Star Game.

In 1987, Rendez-Vous ‘87, two games between the Soviet Union and Team NHL replaced the All-Star Game. In 1995 and 2005 the All-Star Game was not played due to a labour disruption affecting the NHL.

In both 2006 and 2010 the All-Star Game was not played because of NHL players’ participation in the Olympics.