The 2013 Memorial Cup in Saskatoon will feature the three players the NHL considers the top prospects for the June draft: Portland Winterhawks defenceman Seth Jones, and Halifax Moosheads forwards Nathan MacKinnon and Jonathan Drouin.

Those three highlight a list of several talented draft-eligible players ranked in the top 100 by NHL Central Scouting or The Hockey News who are playing in the tournament. There are also top players at Canada's showcase junior hockey event who have already been drafted by NHL clubs, a list that includes Western Hockey League trophy winners Brendan Leipsic and Nicolas Petan of Portland and Ontario Hockey League award winner Seth Griffith of London, among others.

Below, a snapshot of the teams competing for the Memorial Cup and some of their top prospects, either drafted already or named in the top 100 by either NHL Central Scouting or The Hockey News.

Saskatoon Blades

  • Head coach: Lorne Molleken
  • History: Memorial Cup appearance in 1989
  • WHL: Last won in 2008
  • Regular season: 44-22-6
  • Playoffs: 0-4
  • Result: Swept by Medicine Hat in opening round
  • Last played: March 27

Lukas Sutter, CWinnipeg
Shane McColgan, RWNY Rangers
Darren Dietz, DMontreal
Dalton Thrower, DMontreal
Josh Nicholls, RWToronto
Duncan Siemens, DColorado
Michael Ferland, LWCalgary
Matej Stransky, RWDallas



Portland Winterhawks

  • Head coach: Travis Green
  • History: Won Memorial Cup in 1983, 1998
  • WHL: Last won in 2008
  • Regular season: 57-12-3
  • Playoffs: 16-5
  • Result: Beat Edmonton for WHL championship
  • Last played: May 10

Seth Jones, D2013
Nicolas Petan, C2013
Oliver Bjorkstrand, LW2013
Chase DeLeo,2014
Mac Carruth, GChicago
Ty Rattie, RWSt. Louis
Brandon Leipsic, CNashville
Taylor Leir, LWPhiladelphia
Troy Rutkowski, DColorado
Tyler Wotherspoon, DCalgary
Derrick Pouliot, DPittsburgh



London Knights

  • Head coach: Dale Hunter
  • History: Won 2005 Memorial Cup, 2012 runner-up
  • OHL: Last won in 2010
  • Regular season: 50-13-5
  • Playoffs: 0-4
  • Result: Beat Barrie for OHL championship
  • Last played: May 13

Bo Horvat, C2013
Nikita Zadorov, D2013
Dakota Mermis, D2013
Max Domi, C2013
Remi Elie, LW2013
Jacob Jammes, RW2014
Alex Broadhurst, CChicago
Seth Griffith, RWBoston
Chris Tierney, CSan Jose
Josh Anderson, LWColumbus
Ryan Rupert, CToronto
Olli Maatta, DPittsburgh
Scott Harrington, DPittsburgh
Anthony Stolarz, GPhiladelphia



Halifax Mooseheads

  • Head coach: Dominique Ducharme
  • History: Memorial Cup appearance in 2000
  • QMJHL: Last won in 2012
  • Regular season: 58-6-4
  • Playoffs: 16-1
  • Result: Beat Rouyn-Noranda for QMJHL championship
  • Last played: April 25
Zachary Fucale, G2013
Jonathan Drouin, LW2013
Nathan MacKinnon, C2013
Martin Frk, RWDetroit
Stephen MacAulay, CSt. Louis
Brent Andrews, CNashville
Konrad Abeltshauser, DSan Jose
Brent Andrews, CNashville


Memorial Cup schedule

The games May 17 and 18 are at 7 p.m. ET, as is the championship. All other games are at 8 p.m. ET.

  • MAY 17: London-Saskatoon
  • MAY 18: Portland-Halifax
  • MAY 19: Saskatoon-Halifax
  • MAY 20: Portland-London
  • MAY 21: Halifax-London
  • MAY 22: Saskatoon-Portland
  • MAY 23: Tiebreaker (if necessary)
  • MAY 24: Semifinal
  • MAY 26: Championship