Kings announce Sutter as new coach

The Los Angeles Kings made it official and named Darryl Sutter as their new head coach on Tuesday.
Darryl Sutter, seen behind the bench for Calgary in 2006, will coach his fourth NHL team. (Jeff McIntosh/Canadian Press)

The Los Angeles Kings made it official and named Darryl Sutter as their new head coach on Tuesday.

Sutter takes over from interim coach John Stevens, who replaced fired coach Terry Murray on Dec. 12. Stevens will remain on staff as an assistant.

Sutter will assume his duties beginning with practice Wednesday, after which the club will hold a news conference to introduce him.

He takes over a Kings team (15-14-4) that entered Tuesday three points out of a playoff spot in the Western Conference with the second-fewest goals in the league.

The Kings are currently riding a streak of 12 consecutive games in which they've scored no more than two goals in regulation.

Los Angeles next plays Thursday night at Staples Center against the struggling Anaheim Ducks, who also recently changed coaches.

Sutter has a career regular-season record of 409-320-131 and 47-54 mark in the playoffs. This is his 13th season as a head coach in the NHL, and the Kings are his fourth club. The other three, Chicago, San Jose and Calgary, each won a division title.

Kings general manager Dean Lombardi had Sutter as his coach in San Jose from 1997 until he was fired in 2002.

Sutter's last coaching job was with the Flames but he stepped down in 2006 to focus on being the team's general manager. The 53-year-old then stepped down as Calgary GM a year ago.

Sutter's teams have made the playoffs 10 times, including 2004, when the Flames reached the Stanley final before losing in seven games to Tampa Bay.

He is one of nine head coaches in NHL history to lead at least three different clubs to 100 wins. His teams have eclipsed the 40-win mark four times and the 100-point plateau twice.

This is the ninth time in franchise history the Kings will finish a season with a different coach than the one they started with. They made the playoffs on three of those occasions — 1982 after Don Perry replaced Parker MacDonald, 1987 after Mike Murphy took over for Pat Quinn, and 1988 after Robbie Ftorek succeeded Murphy.