Forwards Sidney Crosby, Alexander Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis were announced on Thursday as finalists for Ted Lindsay Award, named after the Hockey Hall of Famer from the Detroit Red Wings.

The award is given to the most outstanding player as voted by the players, and each has received the honour in the past.

St. Louis was the winner in 2003-04, Crosby was honoured with the Lindsay in 2006-07, and Ovechkin won three years running beginning in 2007-08.

Pittsburgh Penguins captain Crosby is a finalist this season despite missing the last dozen games of the regular season due to a fractured jaw. He scored 15 goals and 41 assists in 36 games and was only overtaken for the NHL scoring lead in the final week of the season.

St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning took over the scoring lead and won his second career Art Ross Trophy with 60 points, paced by an NHL-leading 43 assists.

Washington Capitals captain Ovechkin started the season slowly with the struggling Capitals, but set a torrid pace over the final two months. He led the league with 32 goals to win his third "Rocket" Richard Trophy, and was third in the league with 56 points.

The NHL has been rolling out its award nominee list this week and next, and will announce the winners at some point during the Stanley Cup Final.