CBC's Stanley Cup final schedule set

CBC announced the broadcast schedule for the Stanley Cup final on Monday after the Philadelphia Flyers defeated the Montreal Canadiens.

CBC announced the schedule for the 2010 Stanley Cup final on Monday following the Philadelphia Flyers' 4-1 series victory over the Montreal Canadiens.

The Western Conference champion Chicago Blackhawks will open Game 1 at the United Center against the East champs from Philadelphia on Saturday night (CBC, CBCSports.ca, 8 p.m. ET).  

Game 2 goes Monday, May 31, also in Chicago.

The series shifts to the Wachovia Center in Philadelphia for Game 3 on Wednesday, June 2, and Game 4 on Friday, June 4.

If necessary, the series moves back to the Windy City for Game 5 on Sunday, June 6, then return to Philadelphia for Game 6 on Wednesday, June 9.

Game 7, if necessary, will be on Friday, June 11th.

All games are scheduled to start at 8 p.m. ET.

One team will end a long-standing drought when the cup is hoisted. The Chicago Blackhawks last won the championship in 1961, 49 years ago.

On the Flyers side, the dry spell has been 35 years in the making. Philadelphia's Broad Street Bullies captured consecutive championships in 1974 and 1975, but have not experienced that winning feeling since then.

"This is one of the most, maybe the most exciting season ever since the first Stanley Cup," Flyers team chairman and founder Ed Snider said following the win. "What these guys have done, what they've been through, I mean it's incredible."

The Flyers won the only meeting between the two teams this season, a 3-2 thriller on March 13. After falling behind 2-1, Philadelphia stormed back to tie the game late. Then, bruising defenceman Chris Pronger completed the comeback with only 2.1 seconds remaining, one-timing a Claude Giroux pass behind then starter Cristobal Huet.   

 Game 1 - Saturday, May 29, 2010 Philadelphia at Chicago, 8 p.m. ET
 Game 2 - Monday, May 31, 2010 Philadelphia at Chicago, 8 p.m. ET
 Game 3 - Wednesday, June 2, 2010 Chicago at Philadelphia, 8 p.m. ET
 Game 4 - Friday, June 4, 2010 Chicago at Philadelphia, 8 p.m. ET
 *Game 5 - Sunday, June 6, 2010 Philadelphia at Chicago, 8 p.m. ET
 *Game 6 - Wednesday, June 9, 2010 Chicago at Philadelphia, 8 p.m. ET
 *Game 7 - Friday, June 11, 2010 Philadelphia at Chicago, 8 p.m. ET
* if necessary