Canadian Olympic hockey team revealed

The roster for Canada's Olympic men's hockey team for the Sochi Winter Games in February was announced Tuesday in Toronto.

Sochi men's squad unveiled in Toronto

Sidney Crosby scored the Golden Goal at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics that secured gold medal for Canada. (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

The wait is finally over.

With executive director Steve Yzerman and his staff on hand to announce the 25-player Canadian men’s Olympic hockey roster Tuesday in Toronto, the team selected can now turn its attention to defending the country’s gold medal.

Team Canada Roster


Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Carey Price,  Montreal Canadiens
Mike Smith, Phoenix Coyotes


Jay Bouwmeester, St. Louis Blues
Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Dan Hamhuis, Vancouver Canucks
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues
P.K. Subban, Montreal Canadiens
Marc-Edouard Vlasic, San Jose Sharks
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators


Jamie Benn, Dallas Stars
Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
Jeff Carter, Los Angeles Kings
Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
Matt Duchene, Colorado Avalanche
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Chris Kunitz, Pittsburgh Penguins
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks
Rick Nash, New York Rangers
Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks
Patrick Sharp, Chicago Blackhawks
​Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning
John Tavares, New York Islanders
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Canada will be led by Olympic hero Sidney Crosby, whose overtime goal at the 2010 Vancouver Games won Canada the gold medal in the final against the U.S.​

Crosby, the Pittsburgh Penguins' superstar centre, ranks first in NHL scoring this season with 63 points.

Canada is looking to become the first country since professional hockey players were included at the 1998 Nagano Olympics to repeat as gold-medal champions.

The team is filled with players that won gold in Vancouver. Aside form Crosby, there are returning forwards Jonathan Toews, Patrice Bergeron, Corey Perry and Ryan Getzlaf, among others.

On defence, Drew Doughty, Duncan Keith and Shea Weber will once again man the blue-line. 

In goal, 2010 gold-medal game winner Roberto Luongo hopes to return as the starter but will battle with the Montreal Canadiens' Carey Price, who made his first Olympic team.

Other first-time Olympians include Steven Stamkos, John Tavares, Matt Duchene and P.K. Subban.

In Sochi, Canada will be slotted in Group B along with Austria, Norway and Finland.

Canada's first game is on Feb. 13 against Norway. The Canadians then play Austria on Feb. 14, followed by their group-stage finale against Finland on Feb. 16. Each game begins at 9 p.m. Sochi time (noon ET).

The quarter-finals are scheduled for Feb. 19, with the semifinals on Feb. 21 and the gold-medal game on Feb. 23. 


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.