Ottawa Senators centre Jason Spezza and New York Islanders star John Tavares will lead a beefed-up Canada at the Spengler Cup.

Hockey Canada has taken full advantage of the lockout, with a choice of NHLers who have gone to Europe to get a game.

The Edmonton Oilers have a healthy presence on the Spengler team, with Devan Dubnyk, Sam Gagner, Ben Eager and Ryan Smyth all wearing Canadian colours. Defenceman Cam Barker is a former Oiler.

Canadians tweet

Matt Duchene: "Excited to be part of @HockeyCanada for the Spengler Cup! Huge honor anytime you get to wear the Maple Leaf on your chest, can't wait"

Sam Gagner: "Very excited to get the invite to play for @HockeyCanada in the Spengler Cup. Always a tremendous honour to play for your country. #Canada"

Tyler Seguin: "Wearing number 92 for team canada in the Spengler Cup over the holidays! Big honor can't wait to throw on that jersey #alwaysaspecialfeeling"

Jason Williams: "Looking forward to playing for @HockeyCanada at Spangler Cup, should be a great tourney!!!"

Other NHLers include Boston Bruins forwards Tyler Seguin and Patrice Bergeron, Detroit Red Wings defenceman Carlo Colaiacovo, San Jose Sharks rearguard Jason Demers and Los Angeles Kings goalie Jonathan Bernier.

Seguin's played particularly well for Switzerland's EHC Biel, scoring 24 goals with 14 assists in just 27 games.

Brett McLean, Kurtis McLean, Pascal Pelletier, Byron Ritchie and Derrick Walser are all back from the squad that reached the quarter-finals last time out.

There is plenty of international experience through the Canadian roster.

Bergeron and Smith both won gold for Canada at the Olympic Games. Those two and nine others have represented Canada at the IIHF World Hockey Championship.

The team is coached by Doug Shedden.

Canada opens Boxing Day against German club side Adler Mannheim at the annual tournament in Davos, Switzerland.

The other team in Canada's group is HC Davos (Switzerland). The other pool features HC Fribourg-Gotteron (Switzerland), HC Vitkovice Steel (Czech Republic) and Salavat Yulaev Ufa (Russia).

The Canadians last won the tournament in 2007. Lativia's Dinamo Riga won the last edition.