Lloydminster Border Kings win Allan Cup

The Lloydminster Border Kings captured their first ever Allan Cup senior AAA hockey championship with a 7-2 win over the Petrolia Squires on Saturday night.

It marked the first time a Saskatchewan team has won the 93-year-old trophy since the Regina Rangers accomplished the feat in 1941.

"I've been with this team for six years and I've seen a lot of guys come and go," Lloydminster captain Merv Mann said. "This championship is for all of them back home."

The Border Kings took control of the game early, jumping out to a 2-0 lead after one period and going ahead 3-1 after 40 minutes.

Greg Brown led the way with two goals while Mann, Dave Morell, Barkley Swenson, Cory Dallyn and Scott Hood also scored.

Bill Boyes and Scott Sullivan replied for Petrolia.

Lloydminster goalie Jason Clague made 36 saves and was named the tournament's most valuable player.

The Border Kings lost 5-3 to Powell River in last year's final on home ice.

"This feels great. Our goal from Day 1 was to get back to the finals again," Clague said. "Some guys packed it in after last year, but we got a great crop of young players and it all came together."

The Border Kings went unbeaten in this year's four-team tournament. They were 2-0-1 in round-robin play and earned a bye into the final.

Petrolia played five games in five nights.

"The day off on Friday was very important to us," Border Kings coach Bill Thon. "We had a couple of guys banged up and we needed the rest. We built this team on talent and speed and it showed tonight. We also have excellent chemistry. Everyone gets along."

Petrolia head coach Rob Menzies said Lloydminster was the best team his club played all season.

"They work hard, they really forechecked us well and they finished around the net," Menzies said. "They have a system and they stuck to it. They displayed a lot of energy tonight and they did they wanted to do."

Four teams competed in the tournament, the other two being the Dundas Real McCoys and the Stony Plain Eagles.