Voting is open to determine 5 finalists in Kraft Hockeyville 2010. ((CBC Sports))

Twelve communities have reached the knockout phase in the Kraft Hockeyville 2010  contest.

Ron MacLean and Cassie Campbell-Pascall of CBC's Hockey Night In Canada revealed the dozen hockey-crazed communities during Monday's broadcast, selected from more than 12,500 submissions.

Each entrant lobbied to convey their community's exceptional spirit, originality and passion for hockey.

The 12 communities are:

 Region  Community  Arena
 Atlantic  Tri-County, N.B.  Tri-County Complex
 Atlantic  Bishop's Falls, N.L.  Pat O'Reilly Memorial Stadium
 *Atlantic  Lawrencetown, N.S.  Lawrencetown Exhibition Youth Arena
 Ontario  Alexandria  Billy Gebbie Arena
 Ontario  Dundas  J.L. Grightmire Market Street Arena
 *Ontario  Timmins  McIntyre Arena
 Quebec  Chateauguay  Arena Leo Crepin
 Quebec  Stanstead  Stanstead College Arena
 *Quebec  Drummondville  Centre Marcel Dionne
 West  Cranbrook, B.C.  Cranbrook RecPlex
 West  Yellowknife, N.W.T.  Shorty Brown Multiplex Arena
 *West  Blackfalds, Alta.  Blackfalds Multi-Plex
 * denotes wild card    

Canadians can vote for their favourite community online at, by phone at 1-866-533-8066, or by texting "vote" + the community name to 111888. Texting is capped at 25 texts per day per mobile number at a cost of 15 cents per text.

Votes received from outside these three official mechanisms will not qualify, and sponsors retain the discretionary right to disqualify any vote deemed to be fraudulent.

CBC's Hockey Night In Canada will recap the Top 12 on March 20, and voting ends March 21 at 11:59 p.m. ET. Five finalists will be announced March 27 on CBC's Hockey Night In Canada, with voting resuming to determine which community will be crowned Kraft Hockeyville 2010.  

On April 3, representatives from Kraft Hockeyville and Hockey Night In Canada personalities will report live from each of the Top 5 communities, and announce the winner.

The community crowned Kraft Hockeyville 2010 receives an NHL pre-season game, played in the local arena, and $100,000 in arena upgrades.

The other four finalists receive $25,000 in arena upgrades from Kraft Canada.

The previous winners were: Terrace, B.C. (2009); Roberval, Que. (2008); North Bay, Ont. (2007); and Salmon River, N.S. (2006).

Follow Kraft Hockeyville 2010 on Facebook and Twitter and receive insider updates and view videos.