The online voting period for CBC Sports' Hockeyville 2009, a competition to crown Canada's most spirited hockey community, has been extended by 1½ hours.

As a result, online voting will now end on Thursday at 1:30 a.m. ET.

The deadline was extended because technical difficulties resulted in online votes not being accepted for the first 1½ hours of the voting process. The issue applied unilaterally across all regions of Canada and everyone was affected equally.

The extension is not applicable to votes submitted via telephone or text message.

Five communities are competing for the title of Hockeyville:

  • Thetford Mines, Que.
  • Humboldt, Sask.
  • Terrace, B.C.
  • Harbour Grace, N.L.
  • Woolwich, Ont.

The winner of the competition earns the right to host an NHL pre-season game next season and receive $100,000 for upgrades to its local arena.

The four runner-up communities will receive $25,000 each in arena upgrades.

The winner will be revealed on CBC's Hockey Night in Canada broadcast on Saturday.

This year's winning community will join previous victors Roberval, Que. (2008); North Bay, Ont. (2007); and Salmon River, N.S. (2006).