The Hershey Bears completed the comeback on Monday night, repeating as American Hockey League champions with a 4-0 home victory over the Texas Stars.

The Bears won the series in six games to take the Calder Cup for the 11th time in franchise history. Hershey has won three times in the last five years and became the first repeat winner since 1991.

While Hershey is a frequent winner, it was the first time in 30 years a Bears team was able to seal the championship in its own rink. Over 11,000 attended at Giant Center.

It was also the only game in the series in which the home team won. Hershey, the affiliate of the Washington Capitals, lost its first two games at home.

The comfortable margin was a rarity for the Bears, who won half of their 16 playoff games in overtime.

All of Hershey's goals in the finale came from defencemen.

John Carlson got the Bears on the board with a power-play goal at 12:29 of the first and less than two minutes later, Karl Alzner added another.

Patrick McNeill scored in each of the last two periods and Michael Neuvirth earned the shutout for the Bears with 22 saves.

Alexandre Giroux registered two assists to finish in a tie with teammate Chris Bourque atop the AHL playoff scoring race with 27 points.

The son of NHL legend Ray Bourque won the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as the most valuable player for the playoffs.

Brent Krahn was in net for the visitors, the affiliate of the Dallas Stars, making 32 stops.