Anthony Mantha broke a 3-3 deadlock with 51 seconds remaining in regulation as the Val-d'Or Foreurs edged the hometown Baie-Comeau Drakkar 4-3 on Tuesday to win the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League championship.

Mantha also tacked on two assists and finished the playoffs with 24 goals and 38 points in 24 games.

Antoine Bibeau stopped 40 shots for the Foreurs and was awarded the Guy Lafleur Trophy as MVP of the series.

Louick Marcotte, Samuel Henley and Randy Gazzola also scored for Val-d'Or, which carried a 3-0 lead into the third period.

Jeremy Gregoire, Gabryel Paquin-Boudreau and Felix Girard scored in the third for the Drakkar, who let a 3-2 series lead slip away.

Baie-Comeau's Philippe Cadorette turned aside 18 of 22 shots in a losing cause.

The Foreurs went 0-for-2 on the power play while the Drakkar failed to score on four chances with the man advantage.

Val-d'Or will represent the QMJHL at the upcoming Memorial Cup and will face the host London Knights on Friday.