Shane Doan, right, and his Canadian teammates won silver at last year's world hockey championship. ((Jacques Boissinot/Canadian Press))

Shane Doan, who has won world hockey gold and silver as captain of Team Canada, will attempt to stay on the podium in the same role at this year's tournament in Dubendorf, Switzerland.

Entering his sixth world championship, Doan has captained the National Hockey League's Phoenix Coyotes the past five seasons.

The 32-year-old collected two goals and six points in nine games at last year's event in which Canada fell 5-4 to Russia in overtime in the gold medal contest at Quebec City.

Dany Heatley and Chris Phillips of the Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning winger Martin St. Louis and Nashville Predators defenceman Shea Weber were named alternate captains Thursday.

The Canadian team also added goaltender Chris Mason to the roster after his St. Louis Blues were swept in the first round of the Stanley Cup playoffs by the Vancouver Canucks.

Mason was an alternate for Canada at the 2006 and '07 worlds, winning a gold medal in 2007 in Moscow. He established career highs this past season with 57 games played, 27 wins and 33 consecutive starts to finish the regular season

Canada opens the tournament Friday against Belarus at 10 a.m. ET. The gold-medal game will be played May 10 at 2.30 p.m. ET and will be preceded by the bronze contest at 10 a.m. ET.

The gold medal loss to Russia last May 18 snapped the Canadians' 17-game winning streak.

The Canadian squad, a talented group with a mix of youth and experience, will be led by Heatley, the 2008 world tourney most valuable player.

Goaltender Dwayne Roloson is the greybeard at 39 and will be the starter in Switzerland after he made 36 straight starts in a failed attempt to lead the Edmonton Oilers into the Stanley Cup playoffs.

A proven top-flight netminder, Roloson led Edmonton to the Cup finals in 2006.

Josh Harding of the Minnesota Wild will be the backup.

11 NHL clubs represented

Phillips will headline a defence that includes Dan Hamhuis (Nashville), Weber (Nashville), Ian White (Toronto) and rookie standouts Drew Doughty (Los Angeles) and Luke Schenn (Toronto).

Heatley, who won the 2008 world scoring race with 20 points, is playing in his seventh major international event for Canada (sixth worlds, one Olympics).

The right-winger will be joined by Ottawa teammates Jason Spezza and Mike Fisher.

In all, 11 NHL clubs will be represented, with Shawn Horcoff, Steven Stamkos and St. Louis among the bigger-name forwards.

Standing behind the bench will be Lindy Ruff, the longest-tenured current head coach in the NHL. He will report for a 12th season with the Buffalo Sabres in September.

Dallas' Dave Tippett and Nashville's Barry Trotz, who follows Ruff in service time, will be the assistants.

At the last six world tournaments, Canada has placed first three times, second twice and fourth.