Senators' Jason Spezza soon will join Team Canada for a pre-competition training camp in Quebec City. ((Ryan Remiorz/Canadian Press))

Canada stockpiled its roster Thursday for the upcoming world men's hockey championship, adding Ottawa Senators standouts Dany Heatley and Jason Spezza, among others.

Canadian general manager Steve Yzerman will also bring aboard two additional defencemen in the coming days.

Also named to the team Thursday was goaltender Mathieu Garon, defencemen Brent Burns and Ed Jovanovski and forwards Ryan Getzlaf and Chris Kunitz. They joined a group that already included Rick Nash, Eric Staal, Shane Doan and Martin St. Louis.

Defenceman Mark Giordano and Gagner were named the team's two alternates.

The last time Canada had a team this high on name value was in 2005, when the entire NHL season was wiped out by the lockout. That Canadian squad included the likes of Martin Brodeur, Joe Thornton, Simon Gagne and Nash but had to settle for silver after losing to the Czech Republic in the final.

Many of the top Canadian players have stayed away from the world championship other years because of injuries, uncertain contract status or simply not wanting to spend almost a month in Europe after a long NHL season.

Three players from Canada's national junior team — defenceman Logan Pyett and forwards Cory Emmerton and Phoenix Coyotes prospect Kyle Turris — will join Team Canada for training camp purposes only.

The 12-team tournament runs May 2-18 with games in Halifax and Quebec City.

The gold medal game will take place May 18 at the Pepsi Colisée.

Canada was to gather in Quebec City Thursday for a pre-competition training camp consisting of practices and two exhibition games — April 26 versus Finland and April 28 against Russia at Pepsi Colisée.

Canada will open defence of its title May 2 against Slovenia. The last host country to win the world championship was the Soviet Union in 1986.