Canada's premier golf tournament is returning to Glen Abbey Golf Club in 2013.

Officials announced Friday that the historic course will host the RBC Canadian Open for the 26th time, and for the first time since 2009, on July 22-28, 2013.

Past Glen Abbey champions include Greg Norman, Nick Price and Tiger Woods. Woods won the 2000 tournament with a 216-yard six-iron shot that landed on the green on the 18th hole, a shot widely considered to be one of the best in recent PGA history.

"Glen Abbey has challenged the world's best on 25 occasions and played host to many of the most memorable finishes in Canadian Open history," Golf Canada executive director and CEO Scott Simmons said in a statement. "As the most fan-friendly spectator course I've ever seen, the Abbey and the Canadian Open share a special connection in Canadian golf."

This year's RBC Canadian Open takes place at the Hamilton Golf and Country Club from July 23-29.

The last Canadian to win the Canadian Open was Pat Fletcher in 1954. No Canuck has ever won the tournament at Glen Abbey, but Mike Weir came second to Vijay Singh after a losing playoff in 2004.