Adam Scott beats Tiger Woods for golfer of year award

Adam Scott narrowly beat out Tiger Woods by five votes to win golf's male player of the year award as decided by the Golf Writers Association of America.

Aussie won 4 tournaments in 2013

Adam Scott, seen here celebrating his win at the Australian Masters, racked up four victories during the 2013 season. (Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

Adam Scott narrowly beat out Tiger Woods as player of the year in voting by the Golf Writers Association of America.

The GWAA takes into account more than just the PGA Tour. Scott won four times, including the Masters, and joined Jason Day in winning the World Cup for Australia. Out of 218 votes cast, Scott won the honour by five votes.

Woods won five times on the PGA Tour, but no majors. He also won the money title and Vardon Trophy for lowest scoring average. Woods previously won player of the year by the PGA Tour and the PGA of America.

Scott also won The Barclays, the Australian PGA and the Australian Masters.

Inbee Park and Kenny Perry were runaway winners for female and senior players of the year.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.