The CFL Players' Association has a new president. Mike Morreale was elected to the post Wednesday at the union's annual general meeting in Barbados. He succeeds Stu Laird, who had served as president since 2001.

Morreale spent 12 seasons as a CFL slotback with Toronto and Hamilton and during that time served as a player rep. He was the league's top Canadian in 1998 with the Ticats and the following year was the outstanding Canadian in the Grey Cup game, again with Hamilton.

Morreale takes over as union president after serving as its director of marketing.

"I am very proud to have been given the honour and privilege of being elected president of the CFLPA," Morreale said in a statement. "This is the opportunity of a lifetime and I'm looking forward to the new and exciting challenges that come with it."

Laird has been asked to remain on the CFLPA's executive committee as a past president, something the union says he is considering.

The union executive will consist of Jay McNeil (first vice-president), Scott Flory (second vice-president) and Marwan Hage (third vice-president).