Alabama running back Mark Ingram, left, is a strong contender for the Heisman Trophy, to be presented on Saturday. ((John Bazemore/Associated Press))

Tim Tebow and Colt McCoy are headed back to the Heisman Trophy presentation as finalists, along with running backs Mark Ingram and Toby Gerhart and defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh.

The five finalists were announced Monday. The Heisman Trophy will be awarded Saturday in New York City.

The last time that as many as five players were invited to the ceremony was 2004, when quarterback Matt Leinart of the University of Southern California won the award.

Tebow is trying to become the second two-time Heisman winner. The University of Florida quarterback won the award for college football's top player in 2007 and finished third last season.

McCoy was the runner-up last season to University of Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and has led No. 2 University of Texas to the national championship game in January.

Ingram has rushed for 1,542 yards and scored 15 touchdowns for No. 1 University of Alabama. Stanford University's Gerhart, meanwhile, has run for more yards (1,736) than any player in the nation.

Nebraska's Suh had 4 1/2 sacks in an attention-grabbing performance against Texas in the Big 12 title game.

Tebow and McCoy entered this season as heavy favourites to contend for the Heisman Trophy again, but neither has played as well as last year and neither will go into Saturday's presentation as the clear favourite.

Tebow has passed for 2,413 yards and rushed for 859 yards, but he hasn't been quite as productive as he was the past two seasons.

McCoy has passed for 3,512 yards with 27 touchdowns and 12 interceptions.

The Heisman could be headed back to a running back. Quarterbacks have won eight of the last nine, with the exception of running back Reggie Bush for USC in 2005.