MA Chidambaram Stadium located in Chennai, India, is scheduled to be host venue for four Cricket World Cup matches. ((Matthew Lewis/Getty Images))

A look at the venues hosting the 2011 Cricket World Cup in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka:

Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium


Built: 2006

Capacity: 25,000

Location: Mirpur, Bangladesh

Previously known as Mirpur Stadium. Later renamed after A.K. Fazlul Haque, popularly known as Sher-e-Bangla or The Lion of Bengal and a scholar and politician during British colonial regime. Located 10 kilometres outside of downtown Dhaka. Boasts excellent infrastructure and facilities.

 February 25  Bangladesh vs. Ireland
 March 4  Bangladesh vs. West Indies
 March 19  Bangladesh vs. South Africa
 March 23  Quarter-final
 March 25  Quarter-final

Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium




Location: Chittagong, Bangladesh

Formerly known as Chittagong Divisional Stadium and Bir Shrestha Shahid Ruhul Amin Stadium. Situated outside Bangladesh's second-largest city. One of the five purpose-built cricket grounds established in the run-up to the 2004 Under-19 World Cup. Granted full international status in January 2006.

March 11 Bangladesh vs. England
March 14 Bangladesh vs. Netherlands

Wankhede Stadium



Capacity: 45,000

Location: Mumbai, India

Considered the main cricket venue since being preferred to Brabourne Stadium as the home to India's cricket nursery in the 1970s. Located in the country's commercial and entertainment capital near the coastline. A sea breeze aids swing bowling. There was concern over construction work, but the ICC gave it a provisional go-ahead to host matches in January.

 March 13  CANADA vs. New Zealand
 March 18  New Zealand vs. Sri Lanka
 April 2  Championship final

Ferozeshah Kotla


Built: 1883

Capacity: 48,000 

Location: New Delhi, India

Nestled beside a 650-year-old fort in a central part of the Indian capital. Originally known for its placid pitches, its relaid surface was so bouncy that a one-day international between India and Sri Lanka was called off in December 2009. Banned for one year until the ICC declared it fit to host matches.   

 February 24  South Africa vs. West Indies
 February 28  Netherlands vs. West Indies
 March 7  CANADA vs. Kenya
 March 9  India vs. Netherlands

Punjab Cricket Association Stadium


Built: 1993

Capacity: 30,000

Location: Mohali, India

Considered one of the best venues in India. Located just outside the northern Indian city of Chandigarh near the foothills of the Shivalik ranges. Hosted the 1996 World Cup semifinal between Australia and West Indies. Had a lively pitch early on, but the pace has slowed significantly over the years.

 March 3  Netherlands vs. South Africa
 March 11  Ireland vs. West Indies
 March 30  Semifinal

M.A. Chidambaram Stadium


Built: 1916 

Capacity: 50,000

Location: Chennai, India 

Also known as the Chepauk Stadium. A regular international venue since 1934. The sultry conditions can be sapping, but it is known to have a sporting crowd that appreciates good performances from any team.

 February 20  Kenya vs. New Zealand
 March 6  England vs. South Africa
 March 17  England vs. West Indies
 March 20  India vs. West Indies

Eden Gardens



Capacity: 67,000

Location: Calcutta, India

Venue of the 1987 World Cup final, it also hosted a World Cup semifinal in 1996, which was awarded to Sri Lanka after a rowdy crowd disrupted the match by starting a fire and throwing bottles onto the ground when rival India slipped into a losing position. Delayed renovation forced the ICC to relocate an India-England group match to Bangalore. Renovations have reduced capacity from 90,000 to 67,000.

 March 15  Ireland vs. South Africa
 March 18  Ireland vs. Netherlands
 March 20  Kenya vs. Zimbabwe

Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium


Built: 2008 

Capacity: 45,000

Location: Nagpur, India 

A new facility on the fringes of the western Indian city in Jamtha. Replaced the older VCA Stadium in the heart of the city. Boasts superb facilities and a lush green outfield, but new location more difficult for fans to reach.

 February 22  England vs. Netherlands
 February 25  Australia vs. New Zealand
 February 28  CANADA vs. Zimbabwe
 March 12  India vs. South Africa

Sardar Patel Stadium



Capacity: 54,000

Location: Ahmedabad, India

Also known as the Motera Stadium. Located on the banks of the Sabarmati river on the outskirts of the western Indian city. Renovated for the 2006 Champions Trophy, when it hosted five of the 15 matches. A regular test and one-day venue. 

 February 21  Australia vs. Zimbabwe
 March 4  New Zealand vs. Zimbabwe
 March 24  Quarter-final

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium


Built: 1972  

Capacity: 50,000

Location: Bangalore, India

Situated near the beautiful Cubbon Park in the heart of the tech city. Renovated for the 1996 World Cup, when it hosted the quarter-final between India and Pakistan. Houses the National Cricket Academy, established in 2000.  

 February 27  England vs. India
 March 2  England vs. Ireland
 March 6  India vs. Ireland
 March 13  Australia vs. Kenya
 March 16  Australia vs. CANADA

Ranasinghe Premadasa Stadium



Capacity: 35,000

Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka

Previously known as Khettarama Stadium. Renamed in 1994 in honour of the late Sri Lankan president, who pioneered the project. Located on a marshland in the capital and one of the earliest flood-lit grounds in Asia. Undergone a complete upgrade for the 2011 World Cup with improved spectator and corporate facilities. ICC approved the venue, despite concerns over delayed construction work.

 February 26  Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka
 March 1  Kenya vs. Sri Lanka
 March 3  CANADA vs. Pakistan
 March 5  Australia vs. Sri Lanka
 March 19  Australia vs. Pakistan
 March 26  Quarter-final
 March 29  Semifinal

Pallekele International Cricket Stadium


Built: 2009  

Capacity: 35,000

Location: Kandy, Sri Lanka

Planned as an alternative to the picturesque Asgiriya Stadium, formerly the centre of cricket in Sri Lanka's central hills of Kandy. (Asgiriya is owned by an Anglican mission school and a need for an alternative venue arose with problems in scheduling international fixtures at a school ground). After a slow start to construction, Pallekele Stadium was eventually certified to host three matches. Muttiah Muralitharan played a key role in the realization of the new venue, prompting proposals to name the ground after the legendary spin bowler.

 March 8  New Zealand vs. Pakistan
 March 10  Sri Lanka vs. Zimbabwe
 March 14  Pakistan vs. Zimbabwe

Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium


Built: 2009  

Capacity: 35,000

Location: Hambantota, Sri Lanka

Constructed for World Cup and named after Sri Lanka President Mahinda Rajapaksa. Situated in the town of Sooriyawewa in the southern Hambantota district. Has yet to host a full international match because of construction delays and bad weather.

 February 20  CANADA vs. Sri Lanka
 February 23  Kenya vs. Pakistan