Miguel Cabrera tops AL all-star voting

Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera leads all AL hitters in early all-star voting with more than 1.5 million votes. Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays is fifth among outfielders as he tries to make it three straight years as a fan-elected starter.

Blue Jays' Bautista 5th among outfielders

Miguel Cabrera and Mike Trout are waging another battle this baseball season following the heated debate by media and fans leading up to the American League MVP announcement last November.

Through Sunday, Cabrera topped all AL hitters with more than 1.5 million all-star votes. The reigning league MVP could be joined by Trout at Citi Field, home of the New York Mets, for the all-star game on July 16.

Trout, who has received the third-most votes at more than 1.19 million, finished second to Cabrera in MVP voting and was named 2012 AL rookie of the year after becoming the first rookie to hit at least 30 home runs and steal 40 bases.

Toronto Blue Jays right-fielder Jose Bautista, who set the all-star vote record in 2011 with nearly 7.5 million votes, could see the end to his two-year run of being a fan-elected starter.

The lone Blue Jay in the running for a starting job sits fifth in outfield voting (653,475) and a little more than 100,000 votes behind Detroit’s Torii Hunter for third spot.

Baltimore’s Chris Davis, who might be the most surprising hitter in the major leagues this season (.357 batting average, 20 home runs, 57 RBIs), tops all first baseman with 1,176,016 votes, followed by Detroit slugger Prince Fielder (1,059,300).

Four-time all-star Robinson Cano appears set to make another start at second base at the Midsummer Classic, having collected 1,235,230 votes to date. Ian Kinsler of the Texas Rangers is next at the position with 656,827 votes.

A .335 batting average and .417 on-base percentage has five-time all-star Joe Mauer, pictured in the gallery above, leading the way at catcher with 863,450 votes.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at stadiums, and all 30 team websites until July 4 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The American and National League teams will be announced July 7.