CBC Saskatchewan

  | Bookmark and Share

Western Canadian Music Awards Special

The Western Canadian Music Awards are in Whitehorse this year, and 13 Tracks' Brent Neilson brings you an hour-long special featuring the Saskatchewan nominees.




See full size image Grant Lawrence of CBC will host The Western Canadian Music Awards Gala again this year and Vancouver's 54-40 will be honoured as the winner of 2011 Hall Of Fame Award.

The Western Canadian Music Awards will be presented at the Yukon Arts Centre in Whitehorse, YT during BreakOut West 2011 on Sunday, October 23.

The Western Canadian Music Industry Awards will be presented on Saturday, October 22.

Full list of 'all' WCMA Nominees



Saskatchewan nominees at this year's WCMA's include:



Little Miss Higgins


Blues Recording of the Year

Little Miss Higgins - Across The Plains


Contemporary Christian/Gospel Recording of the Year

Cities Under Fire - Lukewarm Love


Classical Composition of the Year

David McIntyre - Sonata for Violin and Piano "Sprints"

Elizabeth Raum - Sonata for Violin and Piano


Classical Recording of the Year

Erika Raum and David Moroz - From the Heartland


Instrumental Recording of the Year

Karrnnel & Koulack - Fiddle & Banjo


Urban Recording of the Year

Absofunkinlutely - Blues Kid City

























 Rah Rah


Rock Recording of the Year

Jordan Cook - Seven Deadly Sins

Rah Rah - Breaking Hearts

The Sheepdogs - Learn & Burn


Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year

Shuyler Jansen - Voice from the Lake


Roots Solo Recording of the Year

Jen Lane - For the Night




Black Rain 

Aboriginal Recording of the Year

Black Rain - Under The Gun


Francophone Recording of the Year

Annette Campagne - J'peux pas demander mieux



















Jordan Cook

Independent Album of the Year

Jordan Cook - Seven Deadly Sins

Rah Rah - Breaking Hearts


Songwriter(s) of the Year

Donny Parenteau - Play On

Jay Semko - Before You Leave Canada


Manager of the Year

Louis O'Reilly - O'Reilly International Entertainment Management


Talent Buyer of the Year

Entertainment Committee - Ness Creek Music Festival


Live Music Venue of the Year

The Exchange


Best Album Design

Jolene Higgins - Across the Plains

Derek Bachman - Blue Sky Girl