CBC Revenue Group




CBC and Spruce Meadows today announced a two-year broadcast agreement, continuing a long tradition of partnership and ensuring that Canadians continue to see the best in world-class show jumping on CBC.

"Spruce Meadows' is a Canadian jewel and the tournaments held there attract Olympic, World, European, and National Show Jumping Champions," said Scott Moore, executive director, CBC Sports and general manager, CBC Media Sales and Marketing. "CBC Sports is proud to continue its longstanding tradition of broadcasting these prestigious world-class events and showcasing the very best in championship show jumping to Canadians from coast to coast."

"Spruce Meadows cherishes its long term relationship with CBC," said Linda Southern-Heathcott, president and chief executive officer of Spruce Meadows.  "Since our partnership began nearly twenty years ago we have worked together to set the standard for our sport on a worldwide basis. Today with the comprehensive and diverse coverage we can deliver to Canadians via CBC, bold, and cbcsports.ca we are committed to continuing to partner with CBC to set the standard, so Canadians from coast to coast can experience Spruce Meadows."

The renowned Spruce Meadows is celebrating its 35thanniversary in 2010, and CBC is proud to feature comprehensive coverage of eight world-class tournaments on CBC, CBC's digital channel bold and CBCSports.ca

Coverage of the 2010 season of Championship Show Jumping on CBC gets underway on Saturday, June 12 with the CN Grand Prix, live on CBC Television at 4:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. MT. The action continues on Sunday, June 13 with the ATCO Double Structures Double Slalom live at 2 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. MT and the Nexen Cup live at 4:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. MT, both on bold.

Fifteen year CBC Sports veteran Bruce Rainnie will host the broadcasts as well as provide play-by-play duties. He will be joined by analyst and Maritime equestrian, Deanna Phelan, in/out gate reporter Karin Larsen and reporting from the infield will be Ian Allison.

Legendary former Canadian and world champion and Olympic silver medallist Ian Millar, former Canadian champion Beth Underhill, Olympic silver medallist Jill Henselwood and Olympic gold and silver medallist Eric Lamaze are among the Canada's favourites competing again this season.  They will face tough competition all season long from the world's greatest stars, including Mario Deslaurier, Norman Della Joio, Leslie Howard, and Beezie Madden all jumping for USA, as well as Brazil's Rodrigo Pessoa, Pablo Barrios of Venezuala, Mexico'sAntonio Chedraui and Ireland's Eddie Macken.

Show jumping fans can visit CBCSports.ca 24-hours a day, seven days a week for comprehensive coverage of the Spruce Meadows events.  For information on how to order bold, viewers can call their local television service provider.

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, Internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages.



(Schedule subject to change)

All broadcasts listed are available live and on-demand onCBCSports.ca


Sat. June 12

4:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. MT LIVE

Spruce Meadows: CN Grand Prix


Sat. June 19

4:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. MT

Spruce Meadows: Nexen Cup


Sat. June 26

5 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. MT

Spruce Meadows: ATCO

Structures Double Slalom

Sat. July 10

12 a.m. ET / 10 p.m. MT

Spruce Meadows: ATCO Power Queen Elizabeth II Cup


Sat. July 17

1 p.m. ET  / 11 a.m. MT

Spruce Meadows: Mercedes Benz Classic


Sat. Sept. 11

8 p.m. / 9 p.m. AT

Spruce Meadows: BMO Nations' Cup 

Sun. Sept. 12

3 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. MT LIVE

Spruce Meadows: CN International



Spruce Meadows: BP Cup

Privacy Terms of Use Contact Mobile Services
Copyright © CBC 2015