CBC Revenue Group


Hockey fans, welcome to the Canadian frontier! CBC'S HOCKEY DAY IN CANADA will be heading to Whitehorse, Yukon for its 11th annual broadcast on Saturday, February 12. Host Ron MacLean will broadcast live from the territory capital for the first time, alongside the legendary Don Cherry.

The 13.5 hour wall-to-wall hockey celebration is an annual tradition featuring all six Canadian NHL teams in action across the country (match ups and times to be announced at a later date). CBC'S HOCKEY DAY IN CANADA will also be available live and on-demand at CBCSports.ca. "Whitehorse will provide a stunning backdrop for our 11th edition of CBC'S HOCKEY DAY IN CANADA," said Joel Darling, director of production for CBC Sports. "Hockey is a Canadian passion. Whitehorse and other communities across Canada's north have fascinating hockey stories to tell, and we're excited to be able to share those with Canadians across the country."

"The Whitehorse community is excited about hosting this national event," said Mayor Bev Buckway. "Offers of help have been streaming in, and the enthusiasm of our residents for CBC's Hockey Day in Canada is evident."

Whitehorse, YT, situated along the west bank of the Yukon River, boasts some of the most spectacular natural scenery in Canada. Surrounded by seemingly endless mountains and lakes, Whitehorse was first established as a trans-shipment point and centre for the Klondike Gold Rush of 1898. Today, Whitehorse is a cultural hub, embracing the city's rich frontier town roots as well as its aboriginal heritage.

CBC'S HOCKEY DAY IN CANADA'S 11th annual broadcast on February 12 marks the continuation of an important Canadian hockey tradition. Winner of three Gemini Awards, it was recognized for Best Sports Program (2004) and Best Host in a Sports Program (Ron MacLean in 2004 and 2006). Previous host locations include Stratford, Ont. (2010), Campbellton, N.B. (2009); Winkler, Man. (2008); Nelson, B.C. (2007); Stephenville, Nfld. (2006); Shaunavon, Sask. (2004); Iqualuit, Nunavut (2003); Windsor, N.S. (2002); Red Deer, Alta. (2001); and Toronto, Ont. (2000).
Privacy Terms of Use Contact Mobile Services
Copyright © CBC 2018