CBC Revenue Group


Celebrity presenters including Vince Vaughn, Joshua Jackson, Cory Monteith, Matthew Perry, Erin Andrews, P.J. Stock, Andi Petrillo and more to honour the game's best players from the 2011-12 season

To tweet this release: http://tinyurl.com/d4h59ux

The NHL's biggest stars head to Las Vegas on Wednesday, June 20 and CBC has exclusive coverage as the league hands out the hardware to the top performers from the regular season at the 2012 NHL Awards. Live coverage from the Encore Theater at the Wynn Las Vegas begins at 7 p.m. ET online at cbcsports.ca, and complete coverage of the two-hour event airs on CBC-TV across Canada beginning at 8 p.m. local (8:30 p.m. NT).

Hockey's biggest names will be joined at the annual celebration by an impressive list of celebrities who will be acting as presenters throughout the evening, including actors Vince Vaughn, Kevin Connolly, Colin Hanks and Michael Vartan as well as sportscaster Erin Andrews. Homegrown celebrity presenters include actors Joshua Jackson, Cory Monteith and Matthew Perry as well as CBC'S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA analysts P.J. Stock (@PJStockHNIC) and Andi Petrillo (@andipHNIC).

"The NHL Awards is always a great event and it's going to be a lot of fun to be part of the show, but I'm taking my duties as a presenter seriously," said Petrillo. "The amount of effort and passion these players and coaches put in on a nightly basis all season long is unbelievable, so I'm honoured to be part of the ceremony that recognizes all of that hard work."

Some of the prestigious awards to be handed out at the ceremony include: the Hart Memorial Trophy honouring the league's most valuable player; the Vezina Trophy for the top goaltender; the James Norris Memorial Trophy recognizing the best defenseman; the Calder Memorial Trophy for the most outstanding rookie; and the Ted Lindsay Award for the most outstanding player as voted by the players.

Hall of Famers Ted Lindsay and Mark Messier will be on stage to present the awards named for them. Also making appearances at the NHL Awards are Toronto-born actor Will Arnett, comedian Tracy Morgan and director/writer/actor Kevin Smith. In addition, Canadian rock band Nickelback will take the stage for two live performances throughout the night.


About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, Internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages, plus seven languages for international audiences. In 2011, CBC/Radio-Canada celebrated 75 years of serving Canadians and being at the centre of the democratic, social and cultural life of Canada.



For further information, contact:
James Lamont, Veritas Communications
(Work) 416-482-2617; (Cell) 416-859-5870

Privacy Terms of Use Contact Mobile Services
Copyright © CBC 2018