CBC wins geminis for News, Documentary and Sports programming

The 26th Annual Gemini Awards got underway last night and CBC captured awards for excellence in news, documentary and sports programming.

"These awards demonstrate the growing strength of our news teams, documentary units and CBC Sports," said Kirstine Stewart, executive vice president of CBC English Services.  "The depth of coverage and quality of our programming continues to increase, and we're extremely proud of those honoured tonight."

A second round of awards will be presented tonight, with the gala broadcast of the 26th Annual Gemini Awards set for next Wednesday, September 7 at  8 p.m. (8:30 NT) on CBC Television.


Best Breaking News Coverage
Doug Letto, Rod Dobbin -CBC News: Here & Now: Hurricane Igor

Best Breaking Reportage, National
Adrienne Arsenault - CBC News The National - Pakistan Floods

Best Direction in a Documentary Program
Michael McNamara - Acquainted With the Night

Best Direction in a Lifestyle/Practical Information Program or Series
Grant Greschuk - Village on a Diet - Beyond the Diet

Best Direction in a Live Sporting Event
Chris Elias - 2010 Queen's Plate

Best Direction in a News Information Program or Series
Oleh J. Rumak - the fifth estate - Above Suspicion

Best Documentary Series
Sue Dando, Peter John Ingles, Paul Morin - Africa on the Move

Best Host or Interviewer in a News Information Program or Series
Mark Kelley - Connect with Mark Kelley

Best Live Sporting Event
Trevor Pilling, Sherali Najak, Brian Spear - HNIC on CBC - Heritage Classic

Best Local Newscast, Small Market
Paul Dederick, Chris Lane, Costa Maragos, Jonathan Shanks, Anna-May Zeviar -  CBC News Saskatchewan

Best News Information Segment
Adrienne Arsenault, Stephanie Jenzer, Claude Panet-Raymond, Keith Whelan - CBC

News: The National - Mexico's Deadly Explosion

Best News Information Series
Tassie Notar - CBC News: Marketplace

Best News Special Event Coverage
Mark Bulgutch, Tom Dinsmore, Fred Parker - CBC News: The New Governor General

Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series
Daron Donahue - Code Breakers

Best Picture Editing in a Documentary Program or Series
Sally Blake, Avril Jacobson - Peep Culture

Best Science, Technology, Nature, Environment or Adventure Documentary Program
Niobe Thompson - Code Breakers

Best Sports Analyst
Jim Bannon - 2010 Queen's Plate

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer
Mark Lee - 2010 Canadian Track & Field Championships

Best Sports Reporting
Elliotte Friedman - HNIC on CBC - Heritage Classic

Best Talk Series
George Stroumboulopoulos, David Freeman, Tania Natscheff  - George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight

Best Visual Research
Sonja Carr, Benoît Michaud - Meltdown: The Secret History of the Global Collapse - The Men Who Crashed The World

Best Writing in a Documentary Program or Series
Terence McKenna - Meltdown: The Secret History of the Global Collapse - A Global Tsunami

Best Writing in an Information Program or Series
Linden MacIntyre - the fifth estate - The Betrayal

Launched by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television in 1986, The Gemini Awards honour outstanding achievements in the Canadian English-language television and new media industries. The Gemini Awards bring together over 2,500 of Canada's most gifted craftspeople, producers and decision-makers over several evenings of special events.

For a complete list of nominations and supporting media materials, please visit For supporting photography, please visit

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, Internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages, plus seven languages for international audiences. In 2011, CBC/Radio-Canada is celebrating 75 years of serving Canadians and being at the centre of the democratic, social and cultural life of Canada.

About ACCT
Established in 1979, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is a national, non-profit, professional association dedicated to the promotion, recognition and celebration of exceptional achievements in Canadian film, television and digital media. Unifying industry professionals across Canada, the Academy is a vital force representing all screen-based industries.

Further information:
CBC: Renee Weekes, Veritas Communications, 416-640-4155 / 416-894-7209 (mobile)
ACCT: Suzan Ayscough, Director Communications, Marketing & Development (Interim)
416-366-2227 (Ext. 231)