The Next Chapter

Steve Burrows, if you liked "Wild"...

This episode is all about investigation: tracking down a Canadian counterpart to Cheryl Strayed's "Wild", unearthing historical truths, and explaining why journalists make good characters. Also: meet a detective who would rather be birding than solving murders.
From the cover of "12 Rose Street" by Gail Bowen
Listen to the full episode53:59

In this episode:

* Victor Dwyer: If you like Cheryl Strayed's Wild, you'll love Bear by Marian Engel
* Amanda Rheaume on Clearing the Plains by James Daschuk
*Gail Bowen, author of 12 Rose Street, answers the Proust Questionnaire
* Steve Burrows onA Siege of Bitterns
* Peter Kavanagh reviews Consumed by David Cronenberg, and other books with journalist heroes

James Daschuk, author of "Clearing the Plains"

BONUS MATERIAL: 

Shelagh's interview with James Daschuk:

Singer-songwriter Amanda Rheaume mentioned that her bedside book these days is Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life by James Daschuk. It won numerous awards, including a 2014 Governor General's History Award.

The author talks about his book on how government policies led to starvation among First Nations peoples in the 19th century. 11:58

 James Daschuk talked to Shelagh in a past episode of The Next Chapter. Here's that conversation.


Steve Burrows on birdwatching:

 
Steve Burrows, author of "A Siege of Bitterns"

Author Steve Burrows is a passionate birder, and he passed on his love of our feathered friends to his fictional detective, Domenic Jejeune, in his debut mystery, A Siege of Bitterns. The book garnered plenty of critical praise, and was named to the Globe and Mail's list of 100 top books in 2014.

Author Steve Burrows gives a 30 second pitch on why birdwatching is a great hobby. 0:50

After their conversation, Shelagh asked Steve to share a little of what he finds so appealing about birdwatching. He gave a 30-second pitch on why it's a hobby that should appeal to everyone. Here's what he had to say. 


Peter Kavanagh's list of novels featuring journalists:

In his review of Consumed by David Cronenberg, columnist Peter Kavanagh mentioned other novels featuring  journalists as characters. Here's the list:

  • The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman
  • Charlie Johnson in the Flames by Michael Ignatieff
  • Precious by Douglas Glover
  • Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay
  • Joshua Then and Now by Mordecai Richler