Monday March 23, 2015

Steve Burrows, if you liked "Wild"...

From the cover of "12 Rose Street" by Gail Bowen

From the cover of "12 Rose Street" by Gail Bowen

Listen to Full Episode 53:59

In this episode:

* Victor Dwyer: If you like Cheryl Strayed's Wild, you'll love Bear by Marian Engel
* Amanda Rheaume on Clearing the Plains by James Daschuk
*Gail Bowen, author of 12 Rose Street, answers the Proust Questionnaire
* Steve Burrows on A Siege of Bitterns
* Peter Kavanagh reviews Consumed by David Cronenberg, and other books with journalist heroes

Digital Toolkit march 23 2015

James Daschuk

James Daschuk, author of "Clearing the Plains"

BONUS MATERIAL: 

Shelagh's interview with James Daschuk:

Singer-songwriter Amanda Rheaume mentioned that her bedside book these days is Clearing the Plains: Disease, Politics of Starvation, and the Loss of Aboriginal Life by James Daschuk. It won numerous awards, including a 2014 Governor General's History Award.

 James Daschuk talked to Shelagh in a past episode of The Next Chapter. Here's that conversation.


Steve Burrows on birdwatching:

 

Steve Burrows

Steve Burrows, author of "A Siege of Bitterns"

Author Steve Burrows is a passionate birder, and he passed on his love of our feathered friends to his fictional detective, Domenic Jejeune, in his debut mystery, A Siege of Bitterns. The book garnered plenty of critical praise, and was named to the Globe and Mail's list of 100 top books in 2014.

After their conversation, Shelagh asked Steve to share a little of what he finds so appealing about birdwatching. He gave a 30-second pitch on why it's a hobby that should appeal to everyone. Here's what he had to say. 


Peter Kavanagh's list of novels featuring journalists:

In his review of Consumed by David Cronenberg, columnist Peter Kavanagh mentioned other novels featuring  journalists as characters. Here's the list:

  • The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman
  • Charlie Johnson in the Flames by Michael Ignatieff
  • Precious by Douglas Glover
  • Late Nights on Air by Elizabeth Hay
  • Joshua Then and Now by Mordecai Richler