Is there a piece of Canada's history that captivates you, and gives you hope that this country is on the right path? 

As the nation marks 150 years since Confederation, we ask Canadians across the country to single out an event, a person, or an artifact that has inspired them and tell us the story. Checkup heads to Gatineau, Que., for its first live national broadcast from the brand new Canadian History Hall. We'll set young historians loose on a museum treasure hunt in search of the nuggets of Canada's history that gives them hope for the future.  

Our question: What in Canada's 150 plus years inspires you about its future?

Join host Duncan McCue Sunday June 25, 2017 in-person at the Canadian Museum of History in Gatineau, or as usual via the phones and radio.


Live event information:

Where: Canadian Museum of History (100 Laurier St., Gatineau, Que. - across the river from Parliament Hill)

Event time: 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. ET

Doors open: 3 p.m. ET

Tickets: Register for free tickets here


Radio broadcast information:

Broadcast live simultaneously through six time zones on CBC Radio One, Sirius XM channel 169, and streaming on cbc.ca and on the CBC Radio app.

Start time: 1 p.m. PT, 2 p.m. MT, 3 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. AT, 5:30 p.m. NT.

Toll-free number during the broadcast: 1-888-416-8333


Can't make it to the show? We still want to hear from you. We're looking for YOUR stories about what inspires you about Canada's 150 plus years. You can submit your stories, pictures and/or videos by engaging with us online via e-mail, Facebook or Twitter. We'll pick our favourite stories and post them online. Make sure you use the hashtag #Checkup150 and tag us when you tell your story on Twitter!

Engage with us online:

Email: checkup@cbc.ca

Twitter: @checkupcbc

Facebook: CBC Cross Country Checkup

Hashtag: #CCCheckup


Checkup live from Gatineau Poster

Checkup heads to Gatineau, Que., for the first live national broadcast from the brand new Canadian History Hall.