Riding Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Russell CopemanLIB1482561.66% X
Peter McQueenGRN383915.97%
Sophie FréchettePQ246010.23%
Julie ClouatreADQ17457.26%
David MandelQS11054.6%
Linda SullivanML700.29%
March 27, 12:52:51 AM EDT 166 of 166 polls reporting



ADQ Clouatre, Julie
LIB Copeman, Russell
PQ Fréchette, Sophie
QS Mandel, David
GRN McQueen, Peter
ML Sullivan, Linda

Riding Profile:
Trendy middle-class Montreal neighbourhoods near Monkland Avenue to working class St-Raymond district south of the tracks.

Language Breakdown: per cent mother tongue - single answers
Anglo: 45.0 per cent
Franco: 27.4 per cent
Allo: 27.6 per cent (4.5 per cent Italian; 2.7 per cent Chinese)

Notre-Dame-de-Grâce riding contains that part of Montreal bounded by: the boundary of the town of Montreal-Ouest with the towns of Côte-Saint-Luc and Montreal, Fielding Avenue, Chemin de la Côte-Saint-Luc, the boundary of the towns of Montreal and Westmount, Ville-Marie autoroute (720), Décarie Expressway (15), Lachine Canal, the boundary of the city of Montreal with the towns of LaSalle and Lachine and finally the limit of the towns of Montreal-Ouest and Lachine.
Riding Map:
From Elections Quebec:
External link opens in a new windowNotre-Dame-de-Grâce (PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
Riding History:
Riding first existed in 1966 election.

1939-1963 incl - LIB
1966-1987 Byelection incl - LIB
1989 - EP
1994, 1998, 2003 - LIB

1995 REF: NO - 86.57 per cent YES - 13.43 per cent

Riding created in 1965 redistribution from part of Montreal-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce.

In redistribution before 1989 election, kept all of old riding and added 6.92 per cent of SAINT-HENRI.

In 1992 redistribution, lost part of riding to D'Arcy-McGee and gained part of Westmont that was eliminated.

Political History:
[1994 = 87.61 per cent NDG; 12.39 per cent WESTMOUNT]

LIB COPEMAN defeated PQ LAURENT MALÉPART by 18,741 votes.

1998 LIB COPEMAN defeated PQ CHANTAL PELLETIER by 18,741 votes.
1994 LIB RUSSELL COPEMAN defeated PQ DENISE PLAMONDON by 17,961 votes.
1989 EP GORD ATKINSON defeated LIB THURINGER by 2,090 votes.
Sept. 14, 1987 byelection LIB HAROLD THURINGER defeated ND HÉLÈNE GUAY by 5,074.
1978 LIB REED SCOWEN won July 5, 1978 byelection, held after MacKasey resigned. LIB SCOWEN was re-elected in 1981 and 1985. SCOWEN resigned on June 17, 1987 and was appointed Quebec consul general to London, England in August 1987.
1976 LIB BRYCE MacKASEY defeated UN FRANCIS DONALDSON by 4,429 votes.
1973 LIB WILLIAM TETLEY won Dec. 4, 1968 byelection; was re-elected in 1970, 1973. Minister of revenue, May to October 1970. Minister of financial institutions, companies and co-operatives, October 1970; minister of public works and supply, July 1975.
1966 KIERANS won in 1966; resigned on May 31, 1968 to run federally.
1963 LIB ERIC KIERANS won Sept. 25, 1963 byelection in Montreal-Notre-Dame-de-Grâce. Appointed minister of revenue in 1963 and was minister of health 1965 to 1966.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:March 27, 12:52:21 AM EDT
Untitled Document

Riding Profiles