The Nature of Things | Season 2012-2013, Episode 1 | Jan 14, 2013 | 0:30

Zapped: the buzz about mosquitoes Promo

The story of our ongoing struggle to conquer a little insect that is both delicate and deadly.

Now Playing on CBC Radio Help Refresh

Live audio streams for phones and tablets: Radio One and CBC Music (Radio 2, Radio 3 and more)

CBC Radio One

Listen Live Ottawa change

CBC Radio 2

Listen Live Eastern change

CBC Radio 3

Listen Live Radio 3
The Nature of Things - The Great Human Odyssey - PromoJan 13, 2015 | 1:03The Nature of Things The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Video
The Nature of Things The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Jan 13, 2015 | 1:03Take a journey around the world and back in time with anthropologist Dr. Niobe Thompson, and discover the miracle of our species.
The Nature of Things - Rise of a Species - The Great Human Odyssey - PromoFeb 10, 2015 | 0:30The Nature of Things Rise of a Species - The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Video
The Nature of Things Rise of a Species - The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Feb 10, 2015 | 0:30Like other kinds of human who once shared our world, Homo sapiens should have died away. Discover how our species faced near extinction in Africa, and then found a place to rebuild. Explore the birth of language and art at archeological excavations scientists are now calling “the cradle of the human mind”.
The Nature of Things - Carpe Diem: A Fishy Tale - PromoSep 11, 2013 | 1:05The Nature of Things Carpe Diem: A Fishy Tale - Promo Video
The Nature of Things Carpe Diem: A Fishy Tale - Promo Sep 11, 2013 | 1:05Asian Carp are here to stay - and within 100 km of invading the Great Lakes. Despite best efforts in shooting, electrocuting, poisoning and angling them, they multiply like rabbits. It makes them a substantial threat to fresh water eco-systems.
The Nature of Things - Furs And Filthy Weather - The Great Human OdysseyFeb 19, 2015 | 9:42The Nature of Things Furs And Filthy Weather - The Great Human Odyssey Video
The Nature of Things Furs And Filthy Weather - The Great Human Odyssey Feb 19, 2015 | 9:42For "The Great Human Odyssey", Niobe Thompson and his crew travelled to the most remote part of the Russian Arctic, Chukotka, to film dramatic recreations of an ancient Ice Age culture. They filmed on rotten sea ice and mountain peaks, inside reindeer-fur yurts and hunters camps. And their actors were locals, sea-mammal hunters of the Bering Strait.
The Nature of Things - The Sacrifice - The Great Human OdysseyFeb 25, 2015 | 11:26The Nature of Things The Sacrifice - The Great Human Odyssey VideoClosed Captions available
The Nature of Things The Sacrifice - The Great Human Odyssey Feb 25, 2015 | 11:26We take the camera to a remote rain-forest village in Papua New Guinea to witness a spectacular and shocking ritual: the male initiation of the Crocodile People. After a year of negotiations, our film crew was granted unprecedented access by the village Elders. But when we arrived in person, we faced a final hurdle: a sex change operation. Confused? Have a look.
The Nature of Things - Stonehenge Uncovered - PromoSep 10, 2014 | 0:29The Nature of Things Stonehenge Uncovered - Promo Video
The Nature of Things Stonehenge Uncovered - Promo Sep 10, 2014 | 0:29The biggest archaeological survey ever conducted of the Stonehenge landscape finds new evidence of a lost civilization.
The Nature of Things - The Adaptable Ape - The Great Human Odyssey - PromoFeb 11, 2015 | 0:30The Nature of Things The Adaptable Ape - The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Video
The Nature of Things The Adaptable Ape - The Great Human Odyssey - Promo Feb 11, 2015 | 0:30How did we become our planet’s only global species, at home in every environment on Earth. Learn how our ancestors found a way through the deserts and out of Africa. Explore the meeting of Neanderthals and humans. And discover how we survived the Ice Age.
The Nature of Things - Billion Dollar Caribou (Preview)Mar 14, 2013 | 0:32The Nature of Things Billion Dollar Caribou (Preview) Video
The Nature of Things Billion Dollar Caribou (Preview) Mar 14, 2013 | 0:32In Alberta, woodland caribou’s future is like the flip of a coin; heads we pay the price to keep them, tails we pay the price to let them disappear.
The Nature of Things - Survival of the Fabulous - PromoNov 19, 2013 | 0:29The Nature of Things Survival of the Fabulous - Promo Video
The Nature of Things Survival of the Fabulous - Promo Nov 19, 2013 | 0:29Are gay men actually born gay? If so, what causes this and how could homosexuality, a trait which essentially prevents reproduction, have survived the evolutionary process?
The Nature of Things - Wild Canada: Eps. 5 - Making Wild Canada PromoApr 2, 2014 | 0:30The Nature of Things Wild Canada: Eps. 5 - Making Wild Canada Promo Video
The Nature of Things Wild Canada: Eps. 5 - Making Wild Canada Promo Apr 2, 2014 | 0:30Making the incredible Wild Canada series. Meet Jeff Turner, the series director, and see stories from the field.
The Nature of Things - Evolution of the Mind - The Great Human OdysseyFeb 6, 2015 | 8:16The Nature of Things Evolution of the Mind - The Great Human Odyssey Video
The Nature of Things Evolution of the Mind - The Great Human Odyssey Feb 6, 2015 | 8:16Director Niobe Thompson collaborated with South African filmmaker Craig Foster to bring the world of our earliest coastal ancestors to life. They worked over six months to build scientifically accurate costumes, choose locations along the Cape Coast, and cast a group of actors from local townships.
The Nature of Things - The Oops Babies - Safe Haven for ChimpsFeb 24, 2015 | 2:02The Nature of Things The Oops Babies - Safe Haven for Chimps Video
The Nature of Things The Oops Babies - Safe Haven for Chimps Feb 24, 2015 | 2:02Veterinarian Dr. Raven Jackson explains the unintended births at Chimp Haven.
The Nature of Things - Jane Goodall - Safe Haven for ChimpsFeb 24, 2015 | 2:42The Nature of Things Jane Goodall - Safe Haven for Chimps Video
The Nature of Things Jane Goodall - Safe Haven for Chimps Feb 24, 2015 | 2:42Jane Goodall and David Suzuki discuss chimpanzees in research
The Nature of Things - Jane Goodall 2 - Safe Haven for ChimpsFeb 24, 2015 | 5:23The Nature of Things Jane Goodall 2 - Safe Haven for Chimps Video
The Nature of Things Jane Goodall 2 - Safe Haven for Chimps Feb 24, 2015 | 5:23Jane Goodall and David Suzuki discuss the challenges of conservation
The Nature of Things - Bedouin Journey - the Great Human OdysseyFeb 26, 2015 | 8:45The Nature of Things Bedouin Journey - the Great Human Odyssey VideoClosed Captions available
The Nature of Things Bedouin Journey - the Great Human Odyssey Feb 26, 2015 | 8:45Late in the final stages of editing "The Great Human Odyssey", Director Niobe Thompson and Editor Brenda Terning realized the series lacked a little je ne sais quoi... So, they gathered the crew together for a reunion tour in the Arabian Desert. And it just so happened, they were filming in the footsteps of David Lean and Lawrence of Arabia. Have a look at this making-of, and see how the Bedouin brew their coffee.

1 of 6