District Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Alan McIsaac LIB 1,387 48.03% X
Allan Fraser PC 1,321 45.74%
Gary Clausheide GRN 100 3.46%
Edith Perry NDP 80 2.77%
Updated: Nov. 29, 2007 02:25 AST 11 of 11 polls reporting

Vernon River-Stratford (5)

PC Allan Fraser
LIB Alan McIsaac
NDP Edith Perry
GREEN Gary Clauseheide

District Profile:

This new district is mostly composed of the northern area of the former Belfast-Pownal Bay district and parts of the Glen Stewart-Bellevue Cove and Tracadie-Fort Augustus districts.

Improvements to the Hillsborough Bridge have attracted many people from Charlottetown, with many newcomers building larger homes, mixing with the more common modest bungalows. The district is facing many problems as it struggles to provide the infrastructure for a growing population.

A large, new retail centre on the Trans-Canada Highway has contributed to the growth of the area.

District Map:

Please click on a district for the profile.
From Elections PEI:
External link opens in a new window Vernon River-Stratford [HTML] [PDF, 1.1MB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

The 2007 redistribution incorporated two long-time Conservative ridings. Pat Mella served for Glen Stewart-Bellevue Cove between 1990-2003, acting as provincial treasurer and later becoming the first woman in P.E.I. history to become head of a provincial political party. Mella chose not to run in 2003, but the Conservatives still won, this time under David McKenna.

Historically, voters in Belfast-Pownal Bay have elected a candidate for the winning party. Tory Wilbur Macdonald first won election there in 1979, lost in 1980 and suffered several consecutive defeats before taking office again in 1993.

Glen Stewart-Bellevue Cove
2003 DAVID MCKENNA (PC) beat ERIC ELLSWORTH (LIB) by 958 votes.
2000 PAT MELLA defeated VIOLA EVANS-MURLEY (LIB) by 1,547 votes. Mella opted not to run in the 2003 election.
1996 Mella beat MARY HUGHES (LIB) by 1,443 votes.
Belfast-Pownal Bay
2003 WILBUR MACDONALD (PC) edged SARAH JANE BELL (LIB) by 240 votes.
2000 MacDonald beat ERNIE MUTCH (LIB) by 674 votes.
1996 MacDonald squeaked past LYNWOOD MACPHERSON (LIB), winning by 33 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
LIB 23 0 23 52.93%
PC 4 0 4 41.35%
GRN 0 0 0 3.04%
NDP 0 0 0 1.96%
OTH 0 0 0 0.73%
  • Updated: Nov 29, 2007, 02:25 AST

District Profiles

   Sort By Name Number

More Prince Edward Island Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »