Regional results

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Laura AlbaneseLIB1386242.94%X
Paul FerreiraNDP1337041.42%
Karen McMillanPC323010.01%
Anthony GratlGRN12203.78%
Marco DiasLTN3851.19%
Mariangela SanabriaFCP2150.67%
October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT 248 of 248 polls reporting
About these figures:
Unofficial results were updated at the time shown. For more recent results, visit Elections Ontario. The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.

York South - Weston (106)

Laura Albanese Liberal
Paul Ferreira NDP
Anthony Gratl Green
Karen McMillan PC
Mariangela Sanabria FCP
Marco Dias Libertarian

York South - Weston (106)

This Toronto riding is home to a large working-class population and has one of the lowest average family incomes in the province.

It runs from Highway 401 in the north to the Canadian Pacific Railway line in the south. In the west, it starts at the Humber River and stretches east to the CN Rail lines.

This is a very multicultural riding, with an immigrant population of more than 51 per cent. It includes people of Italian, Chinese, Vietnamese, East Indian, Caribbean and African backgrounds.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of York South-Weston combined 79 per cent of York South with 48 per cent of Lawrence and a fragment of High Park-Swansea. The 2007 redistribution added a tiny portion of territory from the Davenport riding, but no new voters.

From Elections Ontario:
External link opens in a new window York South - Weston [HTML] [PDF, 207KB]
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)

Political History:

In the old riding of York South, Donald C. MacDonald won for the Co-operative Commonwealth Federation in 1955 and 1959, then as a New Democrat in 1963, 1967, 1971, 1975, 1977 and 1981. MacDonald became leader of the CCF in 1953 and was elected the first leader of the renamed NDP in October 1961, a position he held until October 1970.

MacDonald resigned his seat in July 1982 to create a vacancy for Bob Rae, who had become the NDP's new leader. Rae won the byelection and was re-elected in 1985, 1987 and 1990, when he was sworn in as premier. In 1995, Rae won the seat again, but his party lost the election, and he resigned in January 1996. Liberal Gerard Kennedy won the seat in the byelection that followed.

After the 1999 redistribution created York South-Weston, Kennedy opted to run instead in Parkdale-High Park, clearing the way for fellow Liberal Joe Cordiano to win by a margin of about 10,000 votes. Cordiano won by over 13,000 votes in 2003 and was later named economic development and trade minister. He stepped down from the legislature in 2006, saying he wanted to spend more time with his family.

New Democrat Paul Ferreira captured the riding in the byelection following Cordiano's resignation.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:October 11, 2:25:56 AM EDT

District Profiles